Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
It was good and others liked it. But seemed like a flavor was lacking or missing. Will be making it again and tweaking it. Worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I gave it 3 out of 5 stars because it had potiental, however, my sauce was really really salty. I think it could have been my mistake of adding too much soy sauce. I will defiantly try this again and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Sauce ended up a little watery, but overall very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizAnnBowen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margo
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
My husband loved it. The first time I made it I did not have honey on hand, so I used 2 packets of Sugar in the Raw. All I added was a teaspoon of hot sauce. I just made it last night with honey and both ays were very comparable. I will make this again for sure,thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
OMG! This recipe is shrimpaliscious. I used 2 elephant garlic cloves which was perfect for the dish. Didn't have any crushed red pepper------and I'm glad-----it was perfect without it. I also used raw shrimp, which I added to the garlic and green onions only after this mixture cooked for at least 3 minutes-----just until the garlic was a golden color. Cooking time for the shrimp was about an additional 3-4 minutes----just until it was nicely pink. . Final result-----shrimptabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
While I enjoy the "heat" of this recipe it is lacking in the subtle layers of flavor traditionally found in oriental food. I will try fresh ginger and maybe some rice wine next time. I also always use fresh uncooked shrimp to avoid the "rubber shrimp" problem when reheating cooked shrimp. Last thought, to lower sodium use low sodium soy sauce and maybe fresh diced tomatoes from my garden??? in place of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Love the sauce. There was no need to double it like other reviewers suggested. I prefer to taste the shrimp and not have it smothered with too much sauce - so for me .... the recipe as written worked fine. Served over jasmine rice. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I prepared this recipe with sticky rice. The szechuan sauce was OK. It was missing something though. Perhaps a little lime juice and more garlic. Also, I used ginger powder but will opt for the fresh stuff next time. Not a bad dish and it was quick and easy to make but, a store bought sauce could have easily achieved the same effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I really liked this! I made only a few adjustments but not major ones. I place of crushed pepper I used chili pepper, and instead of green onions I used green and red pepper. I also added broccoli and put it over rice. It was amazing! I do have to agree that raw shrimp would be better as pre-cooked DOES become a little rubbery. However, it was still great and turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ber_Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
10 stars! I added craisons for a sweet zing and served over plain jasmine rice. Highly recommend! Many thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,710) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States