Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
You have to give anything this fast, healthy and so full of flavor a 5. Note this isn't a recipe for small children or others with a tongue that can't handle heat. I'd cut back on the red pepper quite a bit if you want to achieve that. For me, however, the recipes worked perfectly as is. As others suggested I doubled the ingredients for the sauce and it's worth noting that this great sauce can be made well in advance, heck, keeping some in the fridge handy for those days you just don't fee like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
719 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was by far the best stir fry-ish recipe I have ever made at home. I would suggest it to anyone! The ginger is a must, and keep the same amount of red pepper, because the spiciness is perfect! Just one note: if you decide to add frozen/fresh veggies (we did), be sure to double or even triple the liquid ingredients (we tripled them and it was perfect) like someone earlier suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllieS.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burnt Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This recipe had a similar taste to General Tsao's Chicken found on this site but was much healthier! The recipe is good as is! I have however, made it numerous times and have adjusted a few things to my liking. I like to double the sauce, decrease the hot peppers and only use 1 teaspoon of oil. I also have found that using uncooked, peeled and deveined shrimp gives the dish a much better taste. I just cook it in the oil until opaque before adding the sauce. I just tried adding pea pods at the end, just until heated through, which was a great asian compliment to the meal. We always serve it over botan rice. A wonderful low fat, low calorie meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I give this 4 and a half stars, but only because I didn't think up this recipe first! It tastes very much like what you would get at the restaurant. I made it twice, both were very good. I added one bag of stir fry veggies, the frozen kind, just prepare in the microwave and drain well before adding to the finished shrimp mixture. Could use fresh veggies as well, but I like the frozen. I also tried crushing 2 of the cloves of garlic and adding them to the sauce and using the remaining 2 cloves as recipe says, it gives the sauce a more garlic flavor.Also be careful not to overcook the shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
i would recomend using raw shrimp as they cook so quickly. pre cooked shrimp come out rubbery while the raw ones will be nice and tender. try tossing in some bay scallops too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhall123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Good recipe, but really, ground ginger? Go all out and put some real ginger in, it makes the depth of flavor so much more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
AMAZING! This recipe is a perfect mixture of tangy not-to-sweet sauce and a little bite of spicy-ness. It really only took 20 minutes (what I thought was amazing!). One suggestion though, if you are making this recipe use 6 tablespoons of water (not 4) and use more olive oil when cooking. Also, don't let the smell of the sauce confuse you at first, I thought it was disguisting too. But, when you cook it the sauce gets REALLY yummy! This recipe was amazing and I deffintaly recomend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I have a very similar recipe to this one. It calls for 1 lb shrimp, fresh ginger, garlic, Tbsp rice wine & I add one can chopped stewed tomatoes. It doesn't really need the honey because the stewed tomatoes give it sweetness. Served with rice this recipe with these additions makes it 5 stars & a wonderful meal for family or guests. You won't have any leftovers !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marge Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Used 2#s of raw shrimp, tripled the sauce and added just a little more red pepper flakes as we like things SPICY. There wasn't any left, even my 4 year old cleaned his plate! Goes perfect with either steamed or fried rice. Thanks for a super easy, way yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarks Mills, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Double the sauce and add a package of frozen broccoli that has been cooked and drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States