Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I searched on and off for probably more than a year, looking for the perfect sauce for my homemade stir-fry. THIS IS IT. It is perfectly spicy and flavorful, and completely healthy (I leave out the cornstarch, because I don't need it to be thick -- runny is perfectly fine!) I double this recipe and make it as a sauce, to go with my 8-10 cups of chopped veggies (I use a whole onion, several carrots, broccoli, and two colored peppers) and 1 lb of diced cooked chicken breast. It is PERFECT. After my chicken and veggies are cooked and combined, I throw this sauce in the pan over them all, let it simmer for a bit, and eat it over rice. We have this for dinner twice once a month; it is my go-to for stir-fry now. And it's not too spicy for my less-than-two-year-old (although she handles spicy things well). I am SO grateful I found this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Wow! thats all I can say. I served this on a bed of rice noodles and made a couple changes. Sadly, I had no ginger but i did have an asian sauce with ginger so i dashed a little of that. I added veggies so I made 3x the amount for the sauce. so good! will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
OH MY!! This is wonderful! I prepared just as written and won't try to change up anything. Hubby and I both licked our plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I was sorry I used my shrimp on this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This recipe was very good, super quick and easy to make, I didn't change a thing! Definitely a keeper, even my picky husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Maybe less ketchup , more soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
All I can say is YUM! I doubled the sauce and added some diced peppers, served with brown rice and steamed broccoli. Will definitely make this again, but might add a bit more spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Really yummy and very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Loved it! Great meal to throw together. Perfect blend of tangy, sweet, and spice, without any of those flavors overpowering. I used a 1lb of shrimp and doubled the recipe for the sauce since I was putting it over udon noodles and broccoli. Didn't have cornstarch so I used flour. Definitely adding this to my recipe bag-of-tricks since I usually have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
OMG, best shrimps ever! Solid reicpe, easy and quick, and out of the world tasty!! Here are some tips from a Chinese girl if you want even more authentic flavor: -Use 1.5-2 lbs raw shrimp(you can buy the peeled frozen shrimps with tail on)! This alone will kick this dish up a couple notches since the raw ones get more shrimp flavor in. -Use fresh ginger! -Triple the sauce, leave out the starch till the end (only use 1 TBS of corn starch, dilute in about 2 TBS water), I also added about 1 TBS of rice vinegar, the sauce was sooooooooooo yummy to eat with rice. Here is how I made it with the above changes. Heat up about 2-3 TBS of grapeseed oil(shrimps are very low cal, so don't feel bad for adding some oil here), cut up about at least 1 thumb size of fresh ginger(first cut into match sticks, then cut into tiny bits), cut up 1-2 small bunch of green onions(white and light green part only). Fry them up till fragrant, toss in the thawed and drained shrimps, fry for 1-2 minutes over high heat, then pour in the tripled sauce, boil for 1-2 minutes, add the starch solution, stir. Add salt. Done! Best ever shrimps hands down!!! gotta try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States