Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is a lovely dish. So quick and so easy. I didn't change anything except doubling the sauce. The beauty of this recipe is that it's so quick and easy and uses simple ingredients you can have on hand any time. Fresh shrimp? Yes, perhaps it would make it better, but, it would also add, not only to cooking time, but to availability of ingredients. Frozen is already in your freezer, fresh needs a trip to the store AND needs to be peeled and deveined. Some people prefer fresh ginger, some, me included, prefer the powdered. As for the hot pepper flakes.... the amount you use depends completely on the pepper flakes you have. I've had some that had almost no heat, then again some that burned the enamel off my teeth. KNOW YOUR PEPPER! And taste the sauce before you add it. Add more if you need it. The basic recipe is what I gave 5 stars for. I can add anything I want to that, and it won't change my rating. Thank you for a great recipe. I'm going to try it with some cooked, frozen turkey meat I have in the freezer. I have no doubt it will be fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHSUZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The Szechaun Shrimp looks good! I'll try to make it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I give this recipe a 5 after tweaking it a little after reading the reviews. I tripled the sauce (we like sauce), cut the ketchup down to 1 Tbsp. plus a little extra squeeze, added an extra 1/2 tsp. soy sauce and a splash of terriyaki plus fresh garlic about 1 clove(let sauce marinade overnight) and some par-boiled asparagus. My husband loved it. We've been married for 10 years and my husband (a gourmet chef) didn't know I could cook until last week I started looking up healthy recipes, since i am on a diet. We're on our second honeymoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Very easy and quick to make. Very good. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was FABULOUS! I used raw shrimp and sautéed them with the green onions and garlic for a couple minutes before adding the sauce. This was so simple and delicious- also reheats perfectly the following day for lunch. I will make this again (and again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Hands down, this is a 5 star meal!!! You have the freedom of whipping it up with any & all of your favorite vegetables to custom design a meal that the whole family will enjoy. I added thinly sliced carrots, snow peas, mushrooms & broccoli and used about a pound of shrimp instead of the 12 oz pkg. I had so many veggies, that I quadrupled the sauce, and it was just perfect. My parents and I LOVED it. My mom even asked me to pack up a bit of the leftovers for her so she could take some to work the next day and make her coworkers jealous! My husband doesn't like shrimp, so for him, I reserved some of the veggies and the sauce beforehand, and in a separate skillet, browned some cut up chicken with the onions, garlic & oil, then threw in the veggies & sauce. It thickened up in less than 30 seconds since it was a smaller portion. He also gave it a 5 star review! They all thought the spiciness was just perfect! It was just enough to get you to the point where your nose starts running a little bit, but not enough to make your tongue burn so much that you can't even enjoy the actual flavor of the food. And for those of us who like spicy food, (not flaming-my-tongue-is-swollen-&-can't-taste-anything spiciness) we all know that the "sweet spot" in spiciness is where your nose starts running but your tongue is still in tact. ;) I tasted it with the chicken too and I loved it. Can't wait to try it again with pork, and maybe even beef. This recipe will definitely be gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom Rocks Mealtime
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
The family really liked this recipe. I didn't change a thing. Served with white rice and steamed veggies. The daughter said it was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Just made this for dinner tonight! It was AWESOME! Doubled the sauce and added pea pods and broccoli. Skeptical husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
One review I read said if your tongue can't handle the heat, reduce the red pepper. I'm not big on spicy; however, my husband is. I tried the recipe exactly just to see how much I could handle. I poured myself a glass of milk to assist if needed. It was spicy, but it was manageable for me. I took a sip of milk every 2 or 3 bites to reduce the fire on my tongue. I thought it tasted fantastic, although it could have used a little salt. Next time I make it, I will reduce the pepper to 1/4 tsp and add a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Awesome recipe and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States