Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Great recipe. I made it exactly as written. I added some broccoli crowns at the same time as the shrimp and sauce just to make it a one pan meal. My husband loved it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I have made this recipe twice, and every time I have it, it never lets me down. I have a 6 month old and a 4 year old. I'm a stay at home mom and so cooking quick foods that allow me to get back to tending to the little one are a must. This meal is actually made in 20 minutes. Now for me, I actually do use raw shrimp instead of pre-cooked because I think it retains it's moisture much better so it does take a bit longer for me. The juices keep the shrimp succulent, so I don't mind the sacrifice in time amounting to about 3-6 minutes. My daughter is use to spicer foods and loved it (the honey flavor in the sauce I think is what she likes the most). Overall, a simple to make dish that packs a lot of flavor and punch. If your child is sensitive to spicy flavors, just cut back on the crushed red pepper, but you will end up with a sweeter shrimp so it won't be "schezwan" persay. This is also a good recipe to just make batches of and freeze for quick meals. I also would recommend coconut rice with this (that is what we eat it with). You can store the coconut rice in your fridge in a closed container for several days and you'll have an easy dinner to whip up in the event you are short on time or just plain tired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I make this all the time. It is quick and easy and I may add delicious. As recommended I use raw shrimp they cook up quickly and also fresh ginger. It is great for company they love it. I also recommend doubling or tripling the sauce. Works well with chicken or beef.It is also healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria Elena
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Delish! A healthy add: Brown rice with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I add 1 tbs of crunchy peanut butter; makes it sooooo much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe I really liked the taste.I used a pound of shrimp and thought that it sucked up the sauce so next time I make it I'll make more sauce, also I added a whole teaspoon of the crushed red peppers because I like a little after burn.I only got two servings out of this recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I was dubious about the ketchup, but this was actually really good. I made it just a smidge more spicy by adding some Sriracha at the end of the cooking, and I will make it again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Fast and delicious! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
It had some heat but didn't love the flavor. Too bland, no savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is really good. I've made it twice with good results both times. Tonight I added 1 tablespoonful of hoisin sauce and the juice of half a lime to the sauce. Fabuloso! Oh yes and a tablespoon of fresh minced ginger with the garlic and scallions. Just did this a third time -- added 1 tablespoon fish sauce and juice of one lime to the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States