Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The Szechaun Shrimp looks good! I'll try to make it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I give this recipe a 5 after tweaking it a little after reading the reviews. I tripled the sauce (we like sauce), cut the ketchup down to 1 Tbsp. plus a little extra squeeze, added an extra 1/2 tsp. soy sauce and a splash of terriyaki plus fresh garlic about 1 clove(let sauce marinade overnight) and some par-boiled asparagus. My husband loved it. We've been married for 10 years and my husband (a gourmet chef) didn't know I could cook until last week I started looking up healthy recipes, since i am on a diet. We're on our second honeymoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Very easy and quick to make. Very good. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was FABULOUS! I used raw shrimp and sautéed them with the green onions and garlic for a couple minutes before adding the sauce. This was so simple and delicious- also reheats perfectly the following day for lunch. I will make this again (and again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Hands down, this is a 5 star meal!!! You have the freedom of whipping it up with any & all of your favorite vegetables to custom design a meal that the whole family will enjoy. I added thinly sliced carrots, snow peas, mushrooms & broccoli and used about a pound of shrimp instead of the 12 oz pkg. I had so many veggies, that I quadrupled the sauce, and it was just perfect. My parents and I LOVED it. My mom even asked me to pack up a bit of the leftovers for her so she could take some to work the next day and make her coworkers jealous! My husband doesn't like shrimp, so for him, I reserved some of the veggies and the sauce beforehand, and in a separate skillet, browned some cut up chicken with the onions, garlic & oil, then threw in the veggies & sauce. It thickened up in less than 30 seconds since it was a smaller portion. He also gave it a 5 star review! They all thought the spiciness was just perfect! It was just enough to get you to the point where your nose starts running a little bit, but not enough to make your tongue burn so much that you can't even enjoy the actual flavor of the food. And for those of us who like spicy food, (not flaming-my-tongue-is-swollen-&-can't-taste-anything spiciness) we all know that the "sweet spot" in spiciness is where your nose starts running but your tongue is still in tact. ;) I tasted it with the chicken too and I loved it. Can't wait to try it again with pork, and maybe even beef. This recipe will definitely be gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom Rocks Mealtime
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
The family really liked this recipe. I didn't change a thing. Served with white rice and steamed veggies. The daughter said it was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Just made this for dinner tonight! It was AWESOME! Doubled the sauce and added pea pods and broccoli. Skeptical husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
One review I read said if your tongue can't handle the heat, reduce the red pepper. I'm not big on spicy; however, my husband is. I tried the recipe exactly just to see how much I could handle. I poured myself a glass of milk to assist if needed. It was spicy, but it was manageable for me. I took a sip of milk every 2 or 3 bites to reduce the fire on my tongue. I thought it tasted fantastic, although it could have used a little salt. Next time I make it, I will reduce the pepper to 1/4 tsp and add a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Awesome recipe and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My husband LOVED this recipe. It is very simple. I doubled the recipe as I had double the shrimp. Used raw shrimp which I recommend. This is definitely a recipe I will be making a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States