Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I've made this twice and it is SOOO GOOD !!!! I doubled the sauce as suggested, and used only about half of the red pepper and ginger...(I was skeered!!!) too bad hubby doesn't like shrimp...darn it I had to eat the WHOLE dish !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing this great recipe. My family loved it. I changed the servings to 12 for six people and did not have any leftovers. Easy and versatile sauce. Can add any protein or vegetable. I added some snow peas and broccoli and used fresh ginger. I also added chicken as some do not like shrimp in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I am not a good cook and my sauce was too thick, but my son loved it (a miracle)and I loved it! I used half of the crushed pepper because we don't regularly have spicy foods. I plan on making this quick easy meal a staple in our home. I think I will try to double or triple the sauce since it's so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made a double recipe of the sauce and served on sautéed boneless skinless chicken. Yum! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Cooked it as shown minus red pepper flakes because of 3 little girls. I doubled the sauce and think I'll triple it next time. Served it over rice and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
As of today, I have prepared 559 different recipes from the allrecipes website. This five-star Asian recipe is definitely in the top 10% of those I have tried. I am Chinese food aficionado. Chinese is my very favorite ethnic food category and given a choice, I would eat Chinese food three or four times every week. Szechwan Chicken is one of my favorite dishes, so when I discovered this recipe, I had the strong sense that I would like it. Like it? My entire family loved it. Admittedly, it's not the best I've ever had. Some Chinese restaurants are nearly unbeatable, but for something that can easily be prepared at home, and can be considered healthy eating to boot, that's enough to easily make this a five star recipe. I paired it with couscous, added some water chestnuts, used a two-pound bag of shrimp, and quadrupled the sauce. It was perfect; fan-stinkin'-tastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I made a double batch of the sauce last week and made this twice. There was fresh ginger in the freezer so I used that, cut the red pepper in half, and added a bit more honey as I was craving a sweeter sauce. The first night it was good, but I felt it was missing something. Two nights later the sauce was absolutely delicious! The flavors really melded and it was so much more flavorful. It is so easy that it will be a regular shrimp go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
quick, easy and delicious. what more could you ask for? a little spicy for my DS, but my DH and i liked it. i used raw shrimp, and fresh ginger. doubled the sauce as i had more shrimp to cook. thanks for the post Foodgu1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very quick & easy to prepare. My husband liked this a lot more than I did. He would have given it 5 stars. I will be making this again with a few changes. I did use fresh shrimp, steamed broccoli and doubled the sauce. Next time I will add half of the sauce to get a good glaze on the shrimp, then add the remaining sauce. I also cheated a little with the rice and use Uncle Ben's rice in the bag that only took 90 seconds in the microwave. Now that's a fast and tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Great! Double the sauce, use fresh ginger (saute it with the garlic and scallions) and use uncooked shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Casco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States