Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Used local eggplant, very good but not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by verucalane
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Really good- reminded me more of lobster sauce than Szechuan so next time I will double up on the chili sauce (and I'm a whimp). I swapped chicken for the shrimp and ground turkey for the ground beef, but I feel this is a very forgiving recipe. Bonus, it really only took 30 minutes total. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by verucalane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Szechuan Eggplant w/Twice-cooked Pork is my favorite dish at our local Chinese restaurant. I use this recipe, but without the shrimp and beef. It tastes awesome! Thank you for this really great recipe. I make it all the time now for my family and even the finnicky ones eat it all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I was happy to discover this recipe as my own mother used to make something similar to this but without meat. The flavor that came out of this recipe was just as I remembered and was perfect over rice. I think I could make this every day if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Fourqurean

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Yum! Put eggplant in last to retain purple color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I left out the beef and the shrimp and it was still delicious! A great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Mom's delicious recipe; through you she has brought great culinary happiness into my home. I did not make changes to your heirloom recipe, so my 5-star rating reflects my experience with the recipe as handed down and not my version of it: this is not a rating of my own personal interpretation, or cooking skills, or pantry contents, but an honest review of the recipe as writen, and let me say it was absolutely wonderful without modification!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Family commented they thought it would be better with chicken instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
4.5... very good. I added mushrooms, lime juice, cilantro, and cabbage and served it over whole wheat pasta. I think next time I will lighten it up and use ground pork or chicken as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I used some cut of meat and it was so tough (but that was my fault) but the sauce on the recipe was great will try again with minced meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States