Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I just made this. I followed the recipe to the letter, added sprouts at the end.. Very good, very easy. Oh, I used regular eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I am trying to lose a little weight and eating vegetarian more often so I was looking for an eggplant recipe. I omitted the shrimp and beef, cut the soy sauce to 2 tablespoons and added some peanuts and diced baby corn to make up for the missing meat. After sauteing the garlic, onions and ginger, this wonderful dish was done in ten minutes. There was absolutely no need to add a thickening agent. Yes, I did use chicken stock, but the orthodox could use veggie stock. This can be a master recipe for many combos of vegetables. If I were to make it with meat, I would use the shrimp and sub ground pork for the beef. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Used local eggplant, very good but not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by verucalane
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Really good- reminded me more of lobster sauce than Szechuan so next time I will double up on the chili sauce (and I'm a whimp). I swapped chicken for the shrimp and ground turkey for the ground beef, but I feel this is a very forgiving recipe. Bonus, it really only took 30 minutes total. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by verucalane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Szechuan Eggplant w/Twice-cooked Pork is my favorite dish at our local Chinese restaurant. I use this recipe, but without the shrimp and beef. It tastes awesome! Thank you for this really great recipe. I make it all the time now for my family and even the finnicky ones eat it all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I was happy to discover this recipe as my own mother used to make something similar to this but without meat. The flavor that came out of this recipe was just as I remembered and was perfect over rice. I think I could make this every day if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Fourqurean

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Yum! Put eggplant in last to retain purple color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I left out the beef and the shrimp and it was still delicious! A great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Mom's delicious recipe; through you she has brought great culinary happiness into my home. I did not make changes to your heirloom recipe, so my 5-star rating reflects my experience with the recipe as handed down and not my version of it: this is not a rating of my own personal interpretation, or cooking skills, or pantry contents, but an honest review of the recipe as writen, and let me say it was absolutely wonderful without modification!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Family commented they thought it would be better with chicken instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States