Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2000
eggplant and hamburger do not go together, tasted like soy sauce hamburger and rice-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
I tried this recipe without the shrimp and it still turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I was looking for a recipie to make a dish like the spicy eggplant at one of our favorite Chinese restaurants. I made this without oyster sauce and without shrimp... It turned out great. My husband liked it enough to volunteer me to make it for my in-laws' Sunday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
waste of eggplant and shrimp. way too salty, maybe if i had used low sodium soy, it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
I made some modifications to the recipe and it turned out really good! I ommitted the shrimp and ground beef, reduced the soy sauce to three Tablespoons, reduced the green onions to only two stalks, doubled the chili sauce, and most importantly, I used three skinny Japanese eggplants instead of one large regular eggplant. It tasted just as good as I've had it at my favorite Chinese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
I substituted the shrimp and beef for chicken since I was trying to duplicate my favorite dish at PF Changs, it was delicious! My boyfriend, who is very skeptical of eggplant, thought it was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
I was looking for a recipe for stir fried eggplant, so I used this and omitted all meats. I cut the soy back to 3 TB and it was still way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This was very good.I used about a pound of very firm tofu,pressed and marinated for about half an hour,instead of the meats.It worked nicely.Also,I din't have any oyster sauce left,so I didn't use that.It was about salty enough for my taste,i probably could have added a couple more Tbs. soy sauce.Over all very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This recipe was way too salty! I substituted no-chicken/vegetable broth for the chicken broth, and didn't use the ground beef, but it was incredibly salty. I added extra broth and some sweet chili sauce to tone it down, and it was okay. I will try it again, but with only 2 Tb of soy sauce, and hope that this will improve things tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I really enjoyed this recipe - the closest I could find to a dish I have often enjoyed in Hong Kong. However, in Hong Kong it is made with ground pork NOT beef. And I found the proportions reversed - there should be a lot more eggplant than meat. After reading the other reviews I slightly reduced each of the chicken stock, soy sauce and oyster sauce and the saltiness was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States