Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
i've never had szechuan eggplant, so i don't know how its supposed to taste & i didn't have any expectations... but i love this recipe!! great blend of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This recipe is gorgeous and so economical. I always omit the shrimp because my husband is allergic. It also freezes well so I make a big batch up and freeze some. Maybe we have bigger eggplants in Canada but I never use as much eggplant as the recipe calls for. Definitely a week night staple. I have to remember to try it with ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I LOVE eggplant, especially Chinese restaurant style, and I found this very tasty! Really good over rice. The eggplant dishes were always my favourite dishes as a kid growing up in a Chinese home and I'm so glad I can make it myself at home now. I used Chinese eggplant (the long skinny kind), omitted shrimp and used ground pork instead of beef. I didn't have oyster sauce at home and used hoisin sauce instead. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
The sauce was amazing. The ground beef can be substituted with ground pork - tastes amazing! And it's healthier, other spicy eggplant dishes require you to fry the eggplant in tons of oil. I will use this eggplant recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mingmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
needed more spice, but liked it becauase it was quite healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
So good! It looks like a lot of ingredients, but this is pretty simple to make. I've omitted the ginger and shrimp both times that I've made this, and it was still great. I agree with other reviewers that ground pork is the more traditional ingredient, but I've used sliced beef in this, and the flavours complement very well. This is really saucy, so serve it with lots of fluffy rice. Putting this over Pad Thai also gives a nice change. Vegetarians could omit the meat and use cubed, crumbled, or fried tofu instead. It's actually one of my favourite ways to eat tofu. Thanks Minhuey, for giving me a taste of mom's home cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Yum!!! We really like this type dish and it went fast with no leftovers. I changed the recipe by combining it with the P.F. Changs recipe ingredients. I prefer the cooking method of Minhueys recipe though, as it doesn't require to deep fry the eggplant, which makes it a healthier dish.I used 2 Tablespoons of soy sauce instead of 4, 1 tablespoon sugar instead of a teaspoon, 2 to 3 cloves of garlic instead of 1 clove and I added to the sauce 1 tablespoon white vinegar 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil. No black pepper. and added the rest of the infredients to the sauce. Also I substituted the beef and shrimp for boneless ground chicken breast which I ground on the food processor. Then I follow the rest of Minhuey's recipe cooking steps. This was gooooood!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
It was delicious!! We made several substitutions based on what we had; we used ground turkey instead of beef, hot chillies diced finely instead of chili sauce, and regular onion instead of green onions and it was hot and delicious! Great, definitely a new staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Not what I would call authentic chinese resturaunt style szechuan, but very good nevertheless. I really enjoyed the flavors of the sauce. I doubled the garlic and added more oyster sauce and extra eggplant. The oyster sauce really does add a very nice flavor. I used thinly sliced pork instead of the ground beef because I have never had ground beef in an asian dish in my life, so it just didn't sound right. Next time I would use only shrimp, as I don't care for many mixed meats in my food and seafood or chicken is my preference. All in all, very good, if not authentic, recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I love this dish it will be on my menu often. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States