Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Yummy! I love anything with eggplant in it, so when I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it. I followed everything on here except a few minor changes. Instead of green onions, I used cilantro, due to me not having any. Also, I used chicken instead of shrimp and ground beef. I will definantly make sure I have all the ingredients next time and follow the recipe as is. I do have to say, the flavor was great! I loved the ginger in it. I can also taste the soy sauce and oyster sauce. I didn't expect it to be as spicy as it was, but, just that tiny teaspoon of chili sauce did it. I didn't have to add any extra before I ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Delicious! Used chicken instead of beef and shrimp. The sauce was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Great recipe! I substituted chicken for the ground beef/shrimp...it turned out deliciously. Even my picky 12 yr old enjoyed it and he normally despises eggplant. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I made recipe exactly as is and LOVED it. Would not change a thing. (althought for personal preferances, I may add more chili sauce for heat). Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Loved the flavor! I added too much chili sauce because I read other reviews that suggested more spice -- maybe the chili sauce I have is super spicy, but a little bit goes a long way. I also just used eggplant, without meat or shrimp, as I was cooking for a vegetarian guest. Definitely will make again, probably with ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Yum!! Will make this again. I used 1T spicy garlic sauce, because I like spicy. Also substituted 1/2 lb Morningstar 'beef", because my boyfriend doesn't eat beef. Used one whole pound shrimp. Loved the flavors of the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This was the first time I've made eggplant and I was trying to find a recipe my picky husband would eat. We both loved it! I didn't have chile paste, so I used about 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes. Also, just used tofu, no meat or fish. Eggplant keeps a nice texture. Served over rice. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
We prefer this with ground pork instead of beef and shrimp. Otherwise, it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
We love this dish. I've made it without the shrimp and I've used some roasted chicken for the meat. It was excellent each time. Thanks for a new way to fix eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
It was kind of bland. I used 3x as much chili sauce and it didn't seem at all spicy to me. Also, I should have heeded the warning about saltiness. Definately use low sodium soy sauce unless you like salty foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J HUTCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States