Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My husband loved this recipe. We have always liked the spicy eggplant dishes we have had at Chinese restaurants. Previous eggplant recipes I have found always called for deep frying the eggplant. I made a few changes to the recipe, I substituted ground turkey and omitted the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Kolz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Very good. Substituted the beef for edamame. It is a bit salty. If you like eggplant this is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
this was very good. I agree that thinly sliced pork would probably have been a better choice than the ground beef. next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Really tasty dish. Has all the right ingredients for bold flavor yet I'm a tough critic when it comes to spicy. I'm sure I used the wrong chili sauce, but Thai Sweet red chili sauce was all the store had in the asian section. So I added about 3 T of chili paste and a few heavy dashes of red pepper flakes and it was perfect. Because my husband says I love salt more than the avg person, I used low sodium soy sauce and reduced to 3T (mistake) and low sodium chicken broth. Next time I'll use 5 T low sod. soy sauce, and 1/2 C broth, since sauce wasn't as thick or salty as I'd like. I used 1/2 lb ground pork, and left out the shrimp. It was a satisfying portion of meat I thought. I would have used tofu but it was passed it's best buy date(darn). I also thought it could have been better with a crunch to it. I might try a bell pepper or cashews next time. I served it over Maifun rice sticks but next time I'm going with sticky rice. I love anything spicy and eggplant is my new favorite veggie, I'm anxious to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was pretty tasty, but not altogether great. I think I might have enjoyed it better with a different meat, like others have suggested, rather than staying with the beef and the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I loved this recipe. I have made similar sauces before, so I knew I'd like it. Instead of meat and shrimp, I used one 16 oz package of extra firm tofu (cut into big cubes) and 2 Italian eggplants. I served it with Chinese noodles and it mixed well with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This dish is full of flavor and texture. I was amazed that such a tasty and interesting dish could be made with so few ingredients and so little prep time. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I'm always looking for a new way to serve eggplant. This is a good one. Just spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
The eggplant is just like a sponge that soaks up the sauce's flavor. A VERY tasty stir fry but I too used chicken instead of beef and shrimp. If you are going to serve this over rice, I think doubling the sauce is a good idea. I made this a second time using chicken, green onion, red bell pepper, sugar snap peas and of course the eggplant and served it over brown rice. I'm changing my rating from 4 to 5 based on my second impression...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I also used skinny Japanese eggplants. It is more tender and better for Asian recipes. I used julianned pork cutlets instead of shrimp and grouned beef for the ultimate authentic flavor. I sauteed the pork with ginger, garlic and half the scallions quickly with a little veg. oil than remove it from the pan to set aside. in the same pan I sauteed the eggplants in a little bit more oil until almost tender than combined pork, eggplant, sauces,cornstarch last in the pan to let the flavors marry and thicken. In the end i sprinkled rest of the scallions and drizzled with seasame oil. Saute to combine and serve. It is SOOOO good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States