Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was a great recipe! My Chinese friend had made this for me (got the recipe off a website in Chinese!) and I loved it, so I was stoked to find a recipe in English! I made a few alterations: - I used beef cut into small pieces instead of ground beef. It was so tender and delicious! I marinated the meat in half of the sauce that would normally just be added to the ground beef during cooking. It was very flavorful. - I reduced the green onion to two and added a huge handful of fresh basil at the end, just after turning off the heat. That's what my friend had done, and it added such aroma and flavor! - I didn't have any oyster sauce, but we hadn't had any when she made it either, so I added some sugar and vinegar in its place. I also didn't use chili sauce, but rather chopped up some dry red peppers instead. It was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe that could be easily tweaked with what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I found this recipe quite bland. I was pretty disappointed as I am a HUGE eggplant fan. But, my sister, for whom I made this recipe, was impressed. I used seasoned tofu instead of any meat and added Kecap Manis at the end for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My husband loved this recipe. We have always liked the spicy eggplant dishes we have had at Chinese restaurants. Previous eggplant recipes I have found always called for deep frying the eggplant. I made a few changes to the recipe, I substituted ground turkey and omitted the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Kolz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Very good. Substituted the beef for edamame. It is a bit salty. If you like eggplant this is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
this was very good. I agree that thinly sliced pork would probably have been a better choice than the ground beef. next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Really tasty dish. Has all the right ingredients for bold flavor yet I'm a tough critic when it comes to spicy. I'm sure I used the wrong chili sauce, but Thai Sweet red chili sauce was all the store had in the asian section. So I added about 3 T of chili paste and a few heavy dashes of red pepper flakes and it was perfect. Because my husband says I love salt more than the avg person, I used low sodium soy sauce and reduced to 3T (mistake) and low sodium chicken broth. Next time I'll use 5 T low sod. soy sauce, and 1/2 C broth, since sauce wasn't as thick or salty as I'd like. I used 1/2 lb ground pork, and left out the shrimp. It was a satisfying portion of meat I thought. I would have used tofu but it was passed it's best buy date(darn). I also thought it could have been better with a crunch to it. I might try a bell pepper or cashews next time. I served it over Maifun rice sticks but next time I'm going with sticky rice. I love anything spicy and eggplant is my new favorite veggie, I'm anxious to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was pretty tasty, but not altogether great. I think I might have enjoyed it better with a different meat, like others have suggested, rather than staying with the beef and the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I loved this recipe. I have made similar sauces before, so I knew I'd like it. Instead of meat and shrimp, I used one 16 oz package of extra firm tofu (cut into big cubes) and 2 Italian eggplants. I served it with Chinese noodles and it mixed well with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This dish is full of flavor and texture. I was amazed that such a tasty and interesting dish could be made with so few ingredients and so little prep time. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I'm always looking for a new way to serve eggplant. This is a good one. Just spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States