Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is very good. I used ground turkey instead of beef and skipped the shrimp (didn't have it on hand). Next time I will use more eggplant, it was my favorite part, and more garlic. My husband really liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
a quick healthy meal. i didn't add the shrimp. i used turkey ground meat instead, which is lower in fat but lamb or pork would have been more flavorful. i also added 1/4c. chopped onion, a bell pepper, and about 1/2lb green beans with a spritz of fresh lime and sprinkle of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
2 from husband 4 from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was Very good! I followed the ingredients exactly, and directions closely. I think the shrimp should be added the last 5 mins or so of the cooking process. It should cook for just a few mins or it will end up rubbery. Flavor was good but needs to be eaten with rice as it was a bit salty.Will make again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
MMMMMM! I use fish sauce instead of the oyster sauce with no problems and use firm tofu as the protein source...a wonderful vegeterian meal! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Cut out the shrimp, and used fish sauce instead of oyster sauce. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I substituted a 12-oz package of silken tofu for the shrimp, but otherwise I followed the recipe closely. It was very good and I would make it again, possibly adding more garlic, ginger, green onions and chili sauce (I like spicy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was a great recipe! My Chinese friend had made this for me (got the recipe off a website in Chinese!) and I loved it, so I was stoked to find a recipe in English! I made a few alterations: - I used beef cut into small pieces instead of ground beef. It was so tender and delicious! I marinated the meat in half of the sauce that would normally just be added to the ground beef during cooking. It was very flavorful. - I reduced the green onion to two and added a huge handful of fresh basil at the end, just after turning off the heat. That's what my friend had done, and it added such aroma and flavor! - I didn't have any oyster sauce, but we hadn't had any when she made it either, so I added some sugar and vinegar in its place. I also didn't use chili sauce, but rather chopped up some dry red peppers instead. It was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe that could be easily tweaked with what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I found this recipe quite bland. I was pretty disappointed as I am a HUGE eggplant fan. But, my sister, for whom I made this recipe, was impressed. I used seasoned tofu instead of any meat and added Kecap Manis at the end for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States