Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Terrific recipe! I substituted tapioca starch for the corn starch to make it a more authentic textured sauce. I also allowed the dish to sit for a few minutes as it is tastier at a luke warm temp as the flavors can balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
It was good but by no means spicy! I only added 2 TBSP. of soy sauce, per others' suggestions and didn't have any shrimp. I can't imagine putting the shrimp in before the beef, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I didnt change a thing to this recipe and I love it! So easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Like many of you, I also substituted chicken for the shrimp and beef. It turned out really nicely. Since my one eggplant was rather large, I upped the amount of chicken stock, did 3 tablespoons of oyster sauce, as well as adding a bit of hoisin and some sweet chili sauce. Instead of just using a chili sauce (as I had none on hand) -- I substituted srirachi, which is an awesome garlic chili sauce. Upped the garlic and green onions, subbed ginger powder for root, as well as adding sesame seeds (instead of oil) at the end. I just used what I had on hand, and it turned out great! It is a must with rice so soak up the delicious salty, semi-sweet spicy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanie Tingle
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Not spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Not too impressed. The flavours were too much, and I usually like a lot of flavour. Too salty/sweet/spicy/oniony, just too many things going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alena Natalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Great recipe. But I made several changes: 1) Reduce soy sauce to 2T. Use light soy sauce like Kikkoman. 2) More eggplant 3) 1/2 lb ground beef 4) Use 1 T chili garlic sauce instead of chili sauce 5) 2 T of oyster sauce and 2 T of black bean sauce The black bean sauce makes all the difference. Trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I'm giving it 4 stars because I modified it a bit to suit my tastes: reduced soy sauce to 2T, used Chinese eggplants instead of one large eggplant, substituted about 1/2 lb. ground pork and 1/2 lb. cubed tofu for the shrimp and ground beef. Served over rice and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was pretty good...it was a little salty for my taste...I think I would use even less soy sauce next time? I used 2 T. of soy sauce and 1 T hoisin and then doubled the chili sauce. I still think it was too much salt...I also didn't add the chicken stock. I served over noodles. Overall pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe was not a trigger clicker at all. To heavy and thick as written. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States