Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Yummy! I had 3 Japanese eggplants instead of the large one. I also did not use any shrimp. It turned out so yummy! I think the only con to this dish is that the sesame oil at the end can be a little much. I put less but it still seemed like a little too much. I don't usually cook with eggplant, but this recipe is definitely going to be a repeat! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I feel like I did something wrong here given all of the rave reviews. The recipe had a potentially great flavor, but was so salty I could barely eat it. I only added 3 tbs soy sauce instead of the full 4. I did use only eggplant (4 Japanese) and no meat, so that probably made the difference. I will likely try this recipe again, but would recommend that if you only use eggplant use maybe 1.5-2 tbs light soy sauce and low sodium chicken broth, or even add some water to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Terrific recipe! I substituted tapioca starch for the corn starch to make it a more authentic textured sauce. I also allowed the dish to sit for a few minutes as it is tastier at a luke warm temp as the flavors can balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
It was good but by no means spicy! I only added 2 TBSP. of soy sauce, per others' suggestions and didn't have any shrimp. I can't imagine putting the shrimp in before the beef, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I didnt change a thing to this recipe and I love it! So easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Like many of you, I also substituted chicken for the shrimp and beef. It turned out really nicely. Since my one eggplant was rather large, I upped the amount of chicken stock, did 3 tablespoons of oyster sauce, as well as adding a bit of hoisin and some sweet chili sauce. Instead of just using a chili sauce (as I had none on hand) -- I substituted srirachi, which is an awesome garlic chili sauce. Upped the garlic and green onions, subbed ginger powder for root, as well as adding sesame seeds (instead of oil) at the end. I just used what I had on hand, and it turned out great! It is a must with rice so soak up the delicious salty, semi-sweet spicy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanie Tingle
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Not spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Not too impressed. The flavours were too much, and I usually like a lot of flavour. Too salty/sweet/spicy/oniony, just too many things going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alena Natalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Great recipe. But I made several changes: 1) Reduce soy sauce to 2T. Use light soy sauce like Kikkoman. 2) More eggplant 3) 1/2 lb ground beef 4) Use 1 T chili garlic sauce instead of chili sauce 5) 2 T of oyster sauce and 2 T of black bean sauce The black bean sauce makes all the difference. Trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I'm giving it 4 stars because I modified it a bit to suit my tastes: reduced soy sauce to 2T, used Chinese eggplants instead of one large eggplant, substituted about 1/2 lb. ground pork and 1/2 lb. cubed tofu for the shrimp and ground beef. Served over rice and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States