Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I have always wanted to try eggplant from a Chinese restaurant but wasn't sure if I would like it. This is a really good recipe with some tweaks according to your tastes. I agree with another reviewer that the eggplant really absorbs the flavor of the sauce. Yum! I left out the ground beef but wish I would have subbed with other veggies. The eggplant/ shrimp combo seemed a little too "meaty" for me. I halved the amount of soy and oyster sauce ( I think there may have been a typo there) so it wasn't too salty. This makes a very saucy dish that went well over brown rice. Next time I would add celery for some crunch and wait to add the shrimp. It was a little overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
wasn't to my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was a good recipe. We love spicy so I more then tripled the chili sauce...only change other then that would be to cook shrimp initially then move to side and toss in at end so they don't over cook....husband loved..made this along with hot sour soup....better then going out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Woller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Tasted like the chinese mapho tofu. I like it with ground pork and more spicy. Everyone likes it.Best to serve hot as it increase the hotness of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woohoogirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
VERY salty! Also lacks that overtone of sweetness that szechuan usually has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was delicious and much better than take-out! I omitted the ground beef and just used shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is very close to a favorite dish of mine at PF Changs. I cut up chicken breast instead of ground beef and I exclude the sugar. I've also used a yellow and red onion when I did not have green onion on hand. It is wonderful, my new weekly dish! I serve it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is definitely a keeper. My husband who loves variety asked me to make this one on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
You can use chicken, shrimp, ground meat, or thinly sliced meat. It goes well with everything. Make sure to include the fresh ginger root. It's what gives it the authentic Chinese cuisine flavour, along with the sauces of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
We made this with bison, not beef and shrimp. We liked this recipe, but have vowed to make it better for our taste. Next time we make it, we will reduce the soy sauce, double the garlic and ginger, and eliminate the corn starch. We didn't have much sauce to go over the rice, and imagine our liquids were less because we used bison (less fat than beef). But, hey...it got Brian to eat the eggplant. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States