Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
4.5... very good. I added mushrooms, lime juice, cilantro, and cabbage and served it over whole wheat pasta. I think next time I will lighten it up and use ground pork or chicken as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I used some cut of meat and it was so tough (but that was my fault) but the sauce on the recipe was great will try again with minced meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I don't cook with corn starch so I used about 3-4 tablespoons flour (depending on the thickness you desire) and mixed it with 1/2 cup chicken broth. Used white pepper as a matter of preference to bring out a more asian flavor and omitted the shrimp/beef. I have used powdered ginger or omitted it altogether - the taste doesn't suffer with or without it. I caramelize some diced sweet onions and add mushrooms. This recipe is also very good with tofu. Seems to take me more than 30 minutes, because it takes awhile for the eggplant to get soft, I'd say the last 15 minutes or so is spent keeping it low on the stove and stirring every so often to keep it from sticking to the bottom of the pan. I can't handle too much spiciness so I only added about 1 teaspoon of chili paste for flavor. Love it - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Very good, but I made it on the spicier side and served it alongside Coconut Jasmine Rice (recipe here). I also added a 2 tablespoons of rice wine vinegar which really made the flavors pop. Kid and hubby loved it. Will be making it again and probably adding mushrooms and baby corn for added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Flavors are perfect. I swapped surf/turf for bird... I love chicken w.szechuan eggplant from my wok-n-good local spot...and they NEVER seem to have the eggplant lately so I had to figure it out myself. The main problem for me here was texture. I will try not to overcook it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I used just two chicken thighs,and Thai holy basil instead of the chili sauce,as it was on hand. Also used aq bit of sesame oil instead of spraying the pan I have made many variations of this recipe, and this was great with my substitutions. Not too much chicken, but enough to enhance flavor. Especially like the small amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonwoman
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This turned out soooo good, much better than expected! I wanted to try something different with ground beef and what little ingredients i had on hand. I had to substitute sliced green peppers instead of eggplant and didn't have any shrimp to add but kept the rest of the ingredients as is. I separated the ground beef very well and instead of only browning it cooked until it started to turn crispy before adding the vegs and sauce. It was a little on the salty side but i like it that way, and not too spicy for the whimpy members of the family although I did add extra chili sauce to my bowl. This seems like a recipe that can work with whatever combination of meat and vegetables you have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aesis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fergus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I had chicken tenders and eggplant in the fridge that I needed to cook up so I found this recipe an decided to give it a try. Delish. I cut the tenders into chunks, floured, and browned in oil. My thinking was I wanted a crispy chicken to counter balance the soft eggplant. I did increase the garlic and did double the sauce. I cooked the eggplant with the garlic and ginger first and browned the chicken in a separate pan. Added sauce and thicken and tossed chicken in last. Family said they'd like to try the ground beef & Shrimp as well so I guess I'm as making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Overall a tasty recipe, but 1lb of ground beef was too much. I used 3 long skinny eggplants, which were drowning in the beef. I have to agree with another reviewer that the dish is traditionally made with ground pork. One thing I did differently from the recipe was instead of cooking the shrimp first, I threw it into the pan for the last 5 min. I would make this recipe again, but use 1/2 lb ground turkey instead of beef, add more chili sauce, and less soy sauce (replace with more soup stock). I might even add 1/2 lb of tofu too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yum, I used pork instead of hamburger and added quite a bit more chili sauce. Hubby and I both loved this, I will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States