Szechuan Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Not what I would call authentic chinese resturaunt style szechuan, but very good nevertheless. I really enjoyed the flavors of the sauce. I doubled the garlic and added more oyster sauce and extra eggplant. The oyster sauce really does add a very nice flavor. I used thinly sliced pork instead of the ground beef because I have never had ground beef in an asian dish in my life, so it just didn't sound right. Next time I would use only shrimp, as I don't care for many mixed meats in my food and seafood or chicken is my preference. All in all, very good, if not authentic, recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I love this dish it will be on my menu often. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
this is not even close to szechuan eggplant. needs much more garlic and much more ginger. very bland....sorry, buts its true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This wasn't what i was expecting but good nonetheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I found this recipe very bland. Definitly more Western then Szechuan in this recipe. The Beef just doesn't suit this recipe and there is too much of it. Could be worth a try with minced pork instead. It also needs a boost to all the flavours that make Szechuan food taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This was so delicious!!! Before this, anytime I made chinese food at home, it would turn out so-so at best, but this was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly and it was just right. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
The oyster sauce and chili sauce makes this dish - even if you put just a little of each in it. I use pork instead of beef and add cubed tofu to it after adding the eggplant. Those who have too salty a soy sauce - just add less. Same with chicken stock - add less boullion and more water. I find the japanese style eggplant doesn't work as well on this dish. The eggplant tends to turn an unappetizing brown after cooking with the lid on. The big deep purple eggplants work well with this dish. Great recipe for this eggplant lover - thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I had an eggplant that I didn't know what to do with when I found this recipe. Due to my own mistakes (not reading the recipe all fully), the dish wasn't much to look at when it was done, but it tasted great. I substituted tofu; drained, marinated in the sauce, and crubled; for beef. It was really tasty and I will try making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Very tasty recipe! I doubled the eggplant, omitted the shrimp and added fresh mushrooms. I aslo didn't have oyster sauce, so I used a thick teriyaki glaze sauce. It's a great recipe--because you can adjust it any way you want and it still comes out delish (ie: add more garlic, ginger, chili, or omit things). Great recipe to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I was skeptical at first, but oh my gosh, this stuff is AWESOME! Different, but absolutely delicious. Add a little extra Thai chili sauce if you want it really spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Carpenter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States