Szechuan Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This was really good!!! I mad a few changes though. Instead of the Soy Sauce, I used 1/2 cup of Yoshida's Original and then didn't have to use the corn starch, it's already thicker. Let it marinade for about an hour, and used mixed oriental veggies. My husband and I love spicy but the kids like it just "tasty", this was good! We added more chili peppers and it was great for us! (Of course we also added more garlic, love that too!) We had it over rice, good quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
Easy and good, though not quite spicy enough for my taste. I increased the red pepper and garlic, and added grated fresh ginger. Instead of using vegetable oil, try using sesame oil instead. My family really liked this dish and requested I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Very nice recipe. If you wish for sauce to be thicker, Add one full cup of broth to mix, drain off and add corn starch to thicken. Re introduce to sauce pan before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victor

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I read the reviews and added extra flavor (more soy, garlic, hot pepper flakes), and the taste was still just average. Yes, it's a quick dish to prepare, but I'll stick with Sesame Beef or Awesome Korean Steak when I'm craving beef stir-fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
my family loved this and it was a fast, easy meal. I bought the meat already in strips and substituted mushrooms for the water chestnuts. I also put another 1/4 c. of chicken broth in. But the flavor of the sauce was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I didn't have the water chestnuts, peanuts or broccoli, so I just used some carrots. I used beef base since I didn't have chicken base. Even without many of the ingredients, this was still very good. It wasn't that spicy and I even used some crushed dried Thai peppers (which are extremely hot) from our garden. After cooking the meat and tasting it (before adding the veggies) I added more dried peppers. That gave it some kick. I'd like to try it sometime with all the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I used shrimp instead of the beef. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Love this recipe! It is one of the best beef stir-fry recipes I have come across! Of course I add my own medley of veggies and add extra hot pepper and a bit of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoals, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
i made it spicier, with cayenne pepper and frank's red hot, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
It needs chili paste, peppercorns, and some hot, habanero peppers and a lot of scallions. The majority found this too bland and I have to agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States