Szechuan Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Not too spicey, in fact a good moderate level of "spiceiness".It seemed bland and lacked flavor. It wasn't bad,just okay. Next time I would try to "punch" up the flavor. It also needed more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
i made it spicier, with cayenne pepper and frank's red hot, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Acceptionally tasty, but not all that spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Schilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
this was very bland. needed more spices and something sweet, as well. will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
I only gave this three stars for now as I thought it was quite bland and not very 'szechuan-like'. I didn't find it even remotely spicy but I will try this again and see if maybe I can get better luck the second time around. It wasn't bad or anything, just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Love this recipe! It is one of the best beef stir-fry recipes I have come across! Of course I add my own medley of veggies and add extra hot pepper and a bit of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoals, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I read the reviews and added extra flavor (more soy, garlic, hot pepper flakes), and the taste was still just average. Yes, it's a quick dish to prepare, but I'll stick with Sesame Beef or Awesome Korean Steak when I'm craving beef stir-fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I thought this was a little bland and it didn't have that Szechuan look or taste that you get from a restaurant. On the positive side, it was a good, quick dish and I'll probably make it again, with more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I didn't have the water chestnuts, peanuts or broccoli, so I just used some carrots. I used beef base since I didn't have chicken base. Even without many of the ingredients, this was still very good. It wasn't that spicy and I even used some crushed dried Thai peppers (which are extremely hot) from our garden. After cooking the meat and tasting it (before adding the veggies) I added more dried peppers. That gave it some kick. I'd like to try it sometime with all the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
My family thought this was very good. The only changes I made were to add some shredded cabbage, some tamari, and a little sugar and I did add more red pepper than called for. I find most stir fry recipes too bland. Thanks Christine for finally giving me an easy and tasty stir fry recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States