Szechuan Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Love this recipe! It is one of the best beef stir-fry recipes I have come across! Of course I add my own medley of veggies and add extra hot pepper and a bit of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoals, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I read the reviews and added extra flavor (more soy, garlic, hot pepper flakes), and the taste was still just average. Yes, it's a quick dish to prepare, but I'll stick with Sesame Beef or Awesome Korean Steak when I'm craving beef stir-fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I thought this was a little bland and it didn't have that Szechuan look or taste that you get from a restaurant. On the positive side, it was a good, quick dish and I'll probably make it again, with more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I didn't have the water chestnuts, peanuts or broccoli, so I just used some carrots. I used beef base since I didn't have chicken base. Even without many of the ingredients, this was still very good. It wasn't that spicy and I even used some crushed dried Thai peppers (which are extremely hot) from our garden. After cooking the meat and tasting it (before adding the veggies) I added more dried peppers. That gave it some kick. I'd like to try it sometime with all the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
My family thought this was very good. The only changes I made were to add some shredded cabbage, some tamari, and a little sugar and I did add more red pepper than called for. I find most stir fry recipes too bland. Thanks Christine for finally giving me an easy and tasty stir fry recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I thought it was great. I will have to tone it down a bit next time though, my family thought it was too spicy. The pepper in it didnt bother me but I can tolerate haberneros too so......... :) Very nice recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
It came out a little bland, but was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
My family loved it. Thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This was really good!!! I mad a few changes though. Instead of the Soy Sauce, I used 1/2 cup of Yoshida's Original and then didn't have to use the corn starch, it's already thicker. Let it marinade for about an hour, and used mixed oriental veggies. My husband and I love spicy but the kids like it just "tasty", this was good! We added more chili peppers and it was great for us! (Of course we also added more garlic, love that too!) We had it over rice, good quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
I marinated the beef for 6 hours, added extra red pepper and left out the peanuts because of allergies in my daughter. Pretty good recipe, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States