Szechuan Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I read through the reviews and noticed most people left negative ones, which is usually when I look for the next recipe. For some reason I tried this one anyway, following a little bit of the advice given. I added a little extra red peppers,soy, garlic powder rather than cloves (all out), added cayenne and some Chinese five spice powder. Stir fried the beef in sesame oil, then aaded one small onion and the broccoli and green bell pepper. Turned out amazing. Kind of mellow flavor when you first take a bite, but by the time you swallow you can taste the spice and the subtle heat. The veggies were delicious, and my kids asked that I add this to rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Excellent recipe. My family enjoys this every time. I did omit the peanuts, crushed red pepper, and chestnuts. Delicious! One of the easiest recipes I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Followed the recipe and ended up with a terribly bland meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beezy Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was very easy and very enjoyable. Wouldn't change a thing except make double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Outstanding! Just like what I get at the neighborhood Chinese restaurant. It was very delicious. I need to make a bigger batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grberk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metamora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I used ground beef instead of sirloin steak. It was good, but a little flavorless. Maybe more soy sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Tried this one last night, and it was the first recipe that I didn't fall in love with the first time out. It really felt like it was missing something, although I have not yet decided what. And it wasn't as spicy as I expected it to be - although that may just be because I am a native New Mexican and used to spicy food. I am gonna rate this a 3-Star (just for now) until I can figure out what it needs to improve it. However, it wasn't a total bust because I think it has a great foundation to be something wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by true_blue_moon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
See notes. One hot chili added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
It was ok. I like it better with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was so easy to prepare and delicious. I wish it were spicier but I guess it was fine since my kids ate it and asked for seconds! Oh, and I also added thinly sliced carrots for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States