Sy's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great, easy bread. I do not have a bread machine, so I used the dough hook on my mixer. Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have tried many recipes, this one tops them all. I substitute two cups of whole wheat flour and it still comes out GREAT. Thanks Sy for this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Recipe turned out just fine. I would have liked it sweeter. It is a pretty bread. Used leftovers for french toast. Not sure that I will make again, I enjoy dinner rolls more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I thought this bread was delicious and so did my family. It was my first time making challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
made the dough in my bread machine and used it to make cinnamon rolls. dough was very good and easy to work with. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was my first attempt at making challah and it turned out great! I baked a little more than half of the dough in a loaf pan so we could use it for sandwiches and made a smaller braided loaf with the rest. The bread baked up beautifully and has a wonderful texture. The only changes I made were substituting extra virgin olive oil instead of the vegetable oil and I proofed the yeast with only the water and sugar, then added the oil and salt and continued with the recipe as written. This will definitely become one of our regular breads. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I made this yesterday. The recipe reads wrong. Don't add the salt into the yeast mixture. It will inhibit the foaming process. I learned this the hard way and wasted two batches of yeast. Once I got it going, the rising took forever, even with rapid rise yeast. I stayed with the amount of sugar posted but added about 1/4 honey with the beaten eggs. It is tasty, but I am not sure it is worth all the effort. Sorry, Sid. I wanted to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeefJerkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Amazing challah! Light, tender, and absolutely gorgeous presentation. My whole family loves this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Fantastic bread! Makes lots of dough and 2 nice sized loaves. Will use it for cinnamon buns and raisin bread next time. I used my bread machine to make and let it sit in the machine for the second rising. I also used bread flour and added additional vital wheat gluten. This definitely shortened the rising time! Will be using this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Incredibly delicious challah! Takes some time but it is well worth it. I used 1/3 cup of sugar to make it a little sweeter. It tastes awesome sliced and toasted with butter. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States