Sy's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I use this Recipe almost every week for Shabbat. I usually make two- four loaves at a time, so it's time saving one week to the next. I don't add the poppyseed, but the bread is still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I have never made such a tasty or beautiful loaf of bread in my life, this was awesome! It had a wonderful texture, was full of flavor, and I just loved the ooo's and ahhh's I got because it was just so beautiful! :) Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Thank you! It was the best recipe of challah I've ever used! Will never buy another loaf! It came out great! Ready for the picture session in any fancy food magazine. I've followed your recipe all the way, including double rising of dough and am now a firm believer that it is the key to this fantastic bread. Sorry, meant 5 stars, but accidentally rated as 1. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I made one loaf plain and carmelized sweet onions for the topping on the other....I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This bread was pretty good and very appealing to the eye. Be forewarned it makes two healthy sized loaves. French toast the next day was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This came out perfectly! Exactly like I expected it to be and it was so easy. Highly recommend especially for beginners in yeast bread making like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
The dough was silky smooth and incredibly easy to work with. More than doubled with all three rises. Came out of the oven after 30 minutes perfectly brown. This is my new go-to recipe for challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I've made this recipe loads of times and it always gets great reactions! In the rare occasion there's any left it's great for french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Absolutely outstanding! My yeast died (my fault) and I had to mix in another few packets, and it was very forgiving! The only thing, and I think it was my oven, was that the bread was ready in 15minutes. Don't wait for the bread to get dark brown: as long as it is mostly light golden on top, it's amazing! My husband ate half a loaf out of the oven before i could stop him! I did add the extra 1/4 cup of sugar, and it made all the difference. It's sweet, without being a sweetbread. SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great, easy bread. I do not have a bread machine, so I used the dough hook on my mixer. Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States