Sy's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Incredible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
SUPERB challah, Sy...made one with poppy seeds the other with sesame seeds. Crust was perfect, inside soft, with a lovely texture...Thank you, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Absolutely fantastic challah. I highly recommend this recipe - no need to change a thing! I used my Kitchenaide stand mixer for the entire mixing and kneading process. I used "best for bread" flour and about 1/3 cup sugar. The end result is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Two words: absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I have a hard time with yeast breads but this turned out rather well for me. My husband said it is the best bread I've made so far. I was worried about adding the salt in with the sugar/water/oil/yeast so I proofed my yeast without the salt. When it foamed, I continued with the recipe as stated. However, I did forget to add the salt so I sprinkled some Kosher on top of the raised loaf after my eggwash and prior to baking. Next time I will remember to add it to the ingredients because it definitely needed it. When the bread was freshly made it was nice and soft, however it did lose that umpf the following day. I recommend eating this bread the day it is baked. This recipe made a beautiful braided bread! I was so impressed - looked like a pro made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I'm an American living in China and was looking for a little taste of good, homemade challah bread like my mother made back home. I found this recipe and loved it! I did make a few changes though. Thy are as follows: I halved the recipe. I don't have an actual oven here, so I baked it in a toaster oven. I made the halved recipe with two eggs and also used 1/8 cup white sugar and a about 1/8 cup and 2 tablespoons honey. So for the full recipe, that would be 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup and 4 tablespoons honey. I added the honey because I read some of the other reviews. The honey sweetened it up just enough, but not too much. I omitted the poppy seeds (I can't find them here in China). I also only let it rise twice in stead of the 3 times that the recipe calls for. Just before I baked the bread, I brushed the top with egg yoke. My North American friends loved it. It was excellent! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Amazing! I made all the challahs recipes on this website! this one is a keeper for my family! I do add more sugar as suggested. The two rises also make more softer and tender. Again, Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Great recipe! Simple with amazing results! The crust came out nice and golden brown and the inside was fluffy and moist with just the right amount of egg flavor. I used 1/3 cup of sugar to make the bread a bit sweeter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This turned out very good! Didn't make any changes other than the egg wash because I don't have a pastry brush...that's why my loaves aren't very pretty and shiny. Used it for french toast and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I'm sure this is a good recipe if the directions to mix the yeast is altered. I tried twice and neither time did the yeast foam up. Both times the liquid mixture was definitely warm enough, but I think the salt inhibits the yeast. The second time, I actually mixed in flour, but the dough didn't rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYPOLLY4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States