Sy's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I have made this dish many times and it turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Coburn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I was looking for a sweet challah recipe with a high rating. Sy's Challah is pretty good! The texture is perfect......couldn't wait so tried a slice (or two) warm from the oven. De-lish! 4 stars...because this is a good recipe but, forme, a little too salty and not sweet enough. I did add 1/2 cup of sugar to the recipe but it just needed a touch more. I can't wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe! One thing I do have to comment on is that if you live at high altitude you will need to work another 1/2 to 1 cup of flour in and also cut your baking time down to 25 to 30 minutes. Do let the dough rise a second time before shaping into the loaves. Makes for a great bread!!!! Super recipe that anyone can do!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I use a scale to measure my flour and have found that 840grams (7 cups by weight) works well for this recipe. In my variant of the recipe I used a 1/2 cup of sugar and added 1 tsp of vanilla flavour to the egg wash. Also, I only baked it for 30 minutes. This bread is great and it comes out nice and soft. The recipe works as it is written. Those who say the salt kills the yeast are simply wrong. I prepared the yeast with the salt in the mix and it has worked every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was delicious and well received by my family for Thanksgiving. My nephew, age 5, was especially appreciative. :) NOTE: I did not add even a full cup of flour while kneading. I would have been too much and ruined the bread. Pay attention to the dough and call it quits when it looks right. For those of you who've never made this before, tear the bread, don't cut it when serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
We haven't tasted the challah yet but it sounds wonderful. A word of caution to inexperienced bakers: No where in the directions does it tell you to add the oil. Since I was following the step by step directions, I forgot the oil. The dough climbed ALL OVER my mixer. I actually had to knead it by hand a bit. When I realized I had forgotten the oil, I put the mixer back together and added the oil. The dough then did not climb up the beaters but I had to help incorporate the oil into the dough with my spatula. Also, the directions do not included the use of the extra egg for the egg wash. I'm thinking the bread will be okay, but the directions should be edited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this over the weekend and used it for french toast among other things. It was great and I made it as writte, no changes. I used my kitchen aid mixer and it was so easy. I have tried other Challah recipes, but could not get them to raise like this one did. It was wonderful and popular at my house. Thanks Sy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BorealisArt
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This was my first ever attempt at making anything with yeast -- and it was so easy! I grew up with my mother making challah bread and I've been craving it fresh from the oven for years! Thank you so much for providing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BorealisArt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This made an AMAZING bread! Some tips: mix the salt with the flour instead of mixing directly with the yeast - salt inhibits yeast, so you'll have a harder time proofing the yeast. I doubled the sugar and it had just enough sweetness. I plan on adding an extra egg or egg yolks for an eggier and yellower bread (and maybe decreasing the water so it won't be too wet). Make sure you do three rises - it results in a great crumb and an incredibly soft bread; the third rise took about 1 hr and I covered with plastic wrap for the third rise because a damp paper towel stuck to the bread too much. I kneaded this dough for 15 sec between each rise to properly distribute the yeast; I was worried that it would make a tough bread, but it didn't! Do two egg washes for that lovely crust: once when you just braided the loaf and one right before you bake. I sprinkled with sesame seeds. Maybe it's my oven or because the loaves I made were tiny, but 1/4 of this recipe took ~13 min at 350°F in my oven. Bake til the crust is lightly browned (keep an eye on it since it browns easily!) or to an internal temperature of 190°F. Use a serrated knife to cut this delicate bread. I'm currently making cinnamon buns with this dough, and I'm planning on trying to make Chinese buns with this dough. This took so much time, but I think it was definitely worth the effort. Thank you for sharing, Sy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMASHAKE
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
One word: YUM. I made these for Shabbat today and got 2 absolutely perfect loaves. I even forgot them on the counter and went shopping for 2 hours. When I got home I brushed on the egg wash and put them in the oven with no problem at all. The only thing is that next time I'd add another teaspoon of salt to the dough. Thank you so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASHAKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States