Syrup on the Bottom French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wow! My husband made this Christmas Eve while I made the egg casserole. We let it sit overnight in the fridge and (as one reviewer suggested) let it set out for an hour to get to room tempreture before we baked it Christmas morning. Everyone really enjoyed it (adults and children) and it went well with the egg casserole. It almost tastes like pecan pie. We did use potato bread because I couldn't find the bread the recipe called for at our local market and we used salted butter and light brown sugar, but those changes are minor, the recipe is great and a keeper! Thank you Rebecca for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made the mistake of doubling the recipe and cooking it in 1 1/2 times the pan size, this doubled the cooking time. You have to cook it enough until it puffs up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by recipesearcher
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used sourdough bread & canned milk & added a teaspoon of cinnamon to egg mixture... Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is one of the best French Toast casserole recipes we've ever tried! I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and it turned out beautifully. My father-in-law liked it so much that he put a claim on the tiny bit left in the pan, and told me that I could NOT toss it out under any circumstance! I will add this to my never-fail, "go-to" recipes! Thank you for sharing this one with us, Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GScovill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bethel, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great recipe. Made it for monthly staff meeting and everyone wanted the recipe. The only thing I changed was the bread. I used french bread instead of chullah. Good reheated in the oven the next day too. Next time I am putting sliced apples and pecans on the bottom before putting the bread on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I was hesitant to try this is as it had not yet been reviewed. The ingredients are ones everyone has on hand and its easy to prepare. The bread is the key and needs to be worked in to fit. This was the perfect consistency and had just a touch of sweetness. 10 mins to prep and exactly 45 minutes cooking time. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I have tried several french toast casseroles on this site and they were always too sweet for our taste. Well I finally struck gold on this one.Did not change a thing either. Absolutely perfect! This will go into my repetoire for a make ahead company worthy breakfast casserole. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this for my Bible study class this morning. It was delicious! I took syrup to go on it in case it needed it, but no extra syrup was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I prepare this dish for our office staff according to recipe and it was perfect. One thing that I did in the morning after taking it out of the fridge was to let it stand at room temperature for about an hour before starting the baking process. I will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RMT
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and let it cool for 10-15 minutes. It was really good not soggy at all although a little sweet. The kids loved it... go figure. I agree with others that the bread is key to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States