Syrup on the Bottom French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I was hesitant to try this is as it had not yet been reviewed. The ingredients are ones everyone has on hand and its easy to prepare. The bread is the key and needs to be worked in to fit. This was the perfect consistency and had just a touch of sweetness. 10 mins to prep and exactly 45 minutes cooking time. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I have tried several french toast casseroles on this site and they were always too sweet for our taste. Well I finally struck gold on this one.Did not change a thing either. Absolutely perfect! This will go into my repetoire for a make ahead company worthy breakfast casserole. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this for my Bible study class this morning. It was delicious! I took syrup to go on it in case it needed it, but no extra syrup was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made exactly as the recipe suggested. After 45 minutes as directed, it wasn't done. I cooked in 5 minute increments and after 20 additional minutes, still not done. I had to cut slice by slice per serving and finish cooking in the microwave. It was just ok. There are plenty of overnight french toast casseroles on this site that come out perfect. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I prepare this dish for our office staff according to recipe and it was perfect. One thing that I did in the morning after taking it out of the fridge was to let it stand at room temperature for about an hour before starting the baking process. I will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is one of the best French Toast casserole recipes we've ever tried! I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and it turned out beautifully. My father-in-law liked it so much that he put a claim on the tiny bit left in the pan, and told me that I could NOT toss it out under any circumstance! I will add this to my never-fail, "go-to" recipes! Thank you for sharing this one with us, Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GScovill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bethel, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Soggy Bottom. Didn't care for the syrup on the bottom idea. Tasty except for that. I wouldn't make it again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made the mistake of doubling the recipe and cooking it in 1 1/2 times the pan size, this doubled the cooking time. You have to cook it enough until it puffs up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RMT
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and let it cool for 10-15 minutes. It was really good not soggy at all although a little sweet. The kids loved it... go figure. I agree with others that the bread is key to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by recipesearcher
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used sourdough bread & canned milk & added a teaspoon of cinnamon to egg mixture... Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States