Syrup on the Bottom French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Turned out fantastic just as written, no changes to cooking time. I left it in the fridge for way more than 8 hours, probably close to 14. I couldn't get all the bread on one layer so I had to double layer it and it still turned out fine. Obviously you can be a beginner cook and this still turns our great. I added pecans to bottom of half the dish to try it out and next time will add to the whole dish. My family and I don't eat much sugar and found it a bit too sweet so we might cut back on the brown sugar too, but that's just our personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Way to mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This will be my 3rd year making this dish for our family's Christmas day brunch. It is simply delicious (no tweaking necessary)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made it for a teenagers' cast after party. There were about 6 breakfast casseroles on the table and this dish was scraped clean way ahead of the others. It is now our Xmas morning breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I was not a fan of this dish. To me, it came out too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Everyone in the house loved this french toast casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great recipe. Made it for monthly staff meeting and everyone wanted the recipe. The only thing I changed was the bread. I used french bread instead of chullah. Good reheated in the oven the next day too. Next time I am putting sliced apples and pecans on the bottom before putting the bread on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made for Christmas morning. A bit too sweet for most of our taste. I forgot to put in the light corn syrup, but it probably would not have added anything except more sweet. It does reheat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wow! My husband made this Christmas Eve while I made the egg casserole. We let it sit overnight in the fridge and (as one reviewer suggested) let it set out for an hour to get to room tempreture before we baked it Christmas morning. Everyone really enjoyed it (adults and children) and it went well with the egg casserole. It almost tastes like pecan pie. We did use potato bread because I couldn't find the bread the recipe called for at our local market and we used salted butter and light brown sugar, but those changes are minor, the recipe is great and a keeper! Thank you Rebecca for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by recipesearcher
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used sourdough bread & canned milk & added a teaspoon of cinnamon to egg mixture... Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States