Syrup on the Bottom French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I was not a fan of this dish. To me, it came out too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Everyone in the house loved this french toast casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great recipe. Made it for monthly staff meeting and everyone wanted the recipe. The only thing I changed was the bread. I used french bread instead of chullah. Good reheated in the oven the next day too. Next time I am putting sliced apples and pecans on the bottom before putting the bread on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made for Christmas morning. A bit too sweet for most of our taste. I forgot to put in the light corn syrup, but it probably would not have added anything except more sweet. It does reheat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Wow! My husband made this Christmas Eve while I made the egg casserole. We let it sit overnight in the fridge and (as one reviewer suggested) let it set out for an hour to get to room tempreture before we baked it Christmas morning. Everyone really enjoyed it (adults and children) and it went well with the egg casserole. It almost tastes like pecan pie. We did use potato bread because I couldn't find the bread the recipe called for at our local market and we used salted butter and light brown sugar, but those changes are minor, the recipe is great and a keeper! Thank you Rebecca for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by recipesearcher
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used sourdough bread & canned milk & added a teaspoon of cinnamon to egg mixture... Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RMT
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and let it cool for 10-15 minutes. It was really good not soggy at all although a little sweet. The kids loved it... go figure. I agree with others that the bread is key to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made the mistake of doubling the recipe and cooking it in 1 1/2 times the pan size, this doubled the cooking time. You have to cook it enough until it puffs up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Soggy Bottom. Didn't care for the syrup on the bottom idea. Tasty except for that. I wouldn't make it again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is one of the best French Toast casserole recipes we've ever tried! I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and it turned out beautifully. My father-in-law liked it so much that he put a claim on the tiny bit left in the pan, and told me that I could NOT toss it out under any circumstance! I will add this to my never-fail, "go-to" recipes! Thank you for sharing this one with us, Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GScovill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bethel, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States