Syrian-Style Lentil and Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I doubled the recipe, and added the coriander as suggested. With doubling, I used 3 ounces (6 tablespoons) of lemon juice. It was a little too tart, so will try 2 ounces next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
The only problem i found was the serving size. It said for 4 people. There was no way it was going to feed my family of 3. Not even doubled was it ok. We usually have larger bowls of soup and Luke leftovers. I edited to make a full pot. So i had to add more water and some chicken broth, more spinach and onion. It was good with the addition of turkey sausage and cumin like others said. I will make again with all the emits i made. But as it stands it will probably only feed 2 small adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Found this recipe after enjoying a similar one at a restaurant. Using the author's recommendations below, I triple the recipe, adding 1.5 cubes of chicken bouillon when cooking the lentils. At these proportions, I add an entire bag (171 g / 6 oz) of prewashed spinach without bothering to chop it because at the end I use a hand-blender to create a chunky puree. Great this way as the flavors really meld and there are no stringy pieces of wilted spinach. A favorite soup of our home now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Excellent as a full meal for 2. I skipped the flour but followed the recipe exactly with the cumin and veg stock instead of water. Next time I will not use salt and try garlic instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I like more broth so I used 6 cups water kept all other ingredients the same except used 2 tsp salt and 3 tsp cumin. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is an easy recipe for a healthy and tasty soup. I tweaked the recipe a bit by adding chopped ginger and garlic and skipping the lemon juice. As green lentils have their own characteristic meaty taste the ginger and garlic brought out a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a very good base recipe. You need to add what you like but mine came out great. I added carrots, corriander, cumin, garlic salt and tabasco. This is a perfect post workout meal packed with protein and low in fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I added two bay leaves to the boiling water and lentils, making sure to take them out before step 2 I added a cup of vegetable stock after adding the lemon juice and spinach. The cumin and parsley were a great addition and cracked pepper is a must in my diet!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aja

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I added cilantro, garlic, corriander and a chicken bouillon cube,,amazing!! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I added more spinach and the recommended cumin. We really enjoyed it. Ours came out less like a soup than like a thick stew, though... and I added in additional water and skipped the step with the flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States