Syrian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Wow! I made this recipe without knowing what syrian bread was. I was surprised when I took these out of the oven. This plain bread goes great with a soup or even pasta. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
Very GOOD!!! Crunchy and tasty, the whole kitchen smelled like a "BAKERY"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I love this bread! I orginally made it for a cultural presentations I was doing, but I like it so much that I am going to have to make it again! Oh and I found out adding extra sugar (what a wonderful accident lol) makes it taste even better to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Excellent!! I make a lot of different kinds of breads but I haven't tried a flat bread like this before. Next time I think I will make the sections smaller so I can take them to work for potlucks. The flavor and texture was very good. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Great recipe!! Next time I make this, I will lessen the amount of salt added to 1/2 t. I thought 1 1/2 t salt was a little much. Also, I had to keep mine in the oven for longer tnan 5 min to give the bread color. And, instead of making 8 small circles, why not make one as large as the pizza stone I use and just cut pieces to serve to guests. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I used to make syian bread the old fashioned way with my grandmother as a child. Now I can make it in less than half the time and I can keep the tradition going. I took some to my grandmother and she couldn't tell the difference. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This is easy and very delicious. My kids love it and my husband too. Why bother with store bought?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This recipe is GREAT! It is very easy. My mother-in-law is Lebanese, and my husband craves her syrian bread. He couldn't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Excellent recipe. Tasted better then store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Bread was very tasty! My family loved it. It was very similar to my sister in law's, who happens to be Syrian. Only problem I had was with huge air bubbles. After I had made them, my SIL told me to pierce the top of the bread with a fork, all over, before baking them. I will do it next time, and I know they will be perfect then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States