Syrian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
A great pita bread! Goes great with the Curried Coconut Chicken on this site. Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I love this recipe!!! It was amazingly simple to make ddespite the fact that I do not have a bread maker and had to knead the dough by hand. Because I am an ameture bread baker I was also unsure of how long to let the dough rise and rest but I winged it and it came out perfect. Thank you so much for this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elegant Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Outstanding. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is the best one for pita bread. I am an Arab and I tried to make the bread for a long time without success until this recipe. This is as good as the store bought one. The only thing is that home ovens just don't have the high and even heat needed to cook the bread quickly to golden brown without drying it. So I cook it until it is just begining to brown then take it out while it is still moist. When I want to eat one loaf, I use a toaster oven to heat it and brown it quickly. Also the toaster oven will repop it for the stuffing to go in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahmad Ghosheh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
We have tried various middle eastern bread recipes and this was the easiest and tasted good. it is plain all by itself, but dipped in some good sauces it was wonderful. next time we might try topping it with a tiny bit of butter and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Bread was very tasty! My family loved it. It was very similar to my sister in law's, who happens to be Syrian. Only problem I had was with huge air bubbles. After I had made them, my SIL told me to pierce the top of the bread with a fork, all over, before baking them. I will do it next time, and I know they will be perfect then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Excellent recipe. Tasted better then store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This recipe is GREAT! It is very easy. My mother-in-law is Lebanese, and my husband craves her syrian bread. He couldn't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This is easy and very delicious. My kids love it and my husband too. Why bother with store bought?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I used to make syian bread the old fashioned way with my grandmother as a child. Now I can make it in less than half the time and I can keep the tradition going. I took some to my grandmother and she couldn't tell the difference. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States