Syrian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I made it completely by hand since I don't have a bread maker. It was very easy and we love it. My Boyfriend even says he likes it better than naan bread! The dough was fun to play with too.. it reminded me of play dough from when I was a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This is a keeper, even my husband who does not like bread told me he liked this one. I served it with roasted garlic in olive oil. I tried different shapes, a barely stretch mini loaf worked best for me. I find that using bread flour gives better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Babin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This bread is delicious! Bye-bye store bought pita bread! I used 2 1/2 cups bread flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and used garlic salt. I let the dough balls "rest" for 5-10 minutes before rolling them out. I baked mine on an oven stone. We filled our pita pockets with falafel, cucumbers, tomatoes and tahini dressing. Thanks for the recipe, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I have thrown out all other recipes for pita bread and put this one! This bread does not disappoint! I don't have a bread machine, so I just kneaded it until smooth, oiled it a little and let it rise about an hour an a half before finishing it following the recipe. My family loved it and the kids were so cute with their little noses pressed to the oven window watching it puff up like a balloon, they got a real kick out of that! Thanks for the great recipe! One tip I did was to put my oven on 500, the hotter, the better, and after it puffed up like a balloon, flipped it on the other side so it could brown a little for another half minute or so before removing it. Otherwise, the first piece didn't brown at all on top and I thought it looked prettier with some browning on both sides. If you leave it too long to brown, it will start to toast and get crunchy so be careful of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This recipe is so good. Before adding the olive oil I sauteed minced garlic until browned and added it to the dough. Awesome Awesome Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Gagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
this is awesome I will never buy store bought again, the only thing I wish I knew was does the dough freezer well or the bread it self? I will be making this a lot. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe turned out great. I used 1 cup of wheat flour since I ran out of white flour and I baked for 4 minutes instead of 5 and they turned out so soft and yummy! I cant wait to serve them to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This bread was easy to make using my breadmaker and worked out great for my Indian dinner since I coulnd't find a quick recipe for naan on this website. It also worked very well sliced thinly in half and then into wedges and toasted for dipping crackers. I found it a little tough, but maybe that's the way it's supposed to be or maybe I overworked the dough when rolling out (I'm not an expert bread maker). I also found it a little bland, like it needed more salt or a more3= flavorful oil. This was not a problem on the first night I served it since it accompanied very heavily spiced Indian food and was more of a utensil. The following day, however, I used it as garlic bread for leftover spaghetti and I noticed the lack of flavor (plus it doesn't absorb butter very well, so it got pretty messy!). I think this bread will be limited to very specific uses for me so I won't make very often. I would also like to try to cut the recipe in half (it made too much bread for 2 people to get through quickly) but I don't know if that's possible since I'm not too knowledgeable about bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Growing up one of our favorite treats was my grandmothers homemade syrian bread. I enjoyed making this recipe, thinking of her... The taste and aroma in the house brought back memories! I overcooked them a bit, but will try them again, making larger loaves. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was very good. I used one cup of wheat flour and two cups all purpose and it came out perfectly. Not as traditional but still just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States