Syrian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I would rate this higher, but I found that the bread was way too crispy when I cooked it at the time/temperature stated. After the first few, I cooked the bread for only 4 minutes and that did the trick. I think even less time or lower temp (my oven runs hot) would work for a soft, more 'foldable' bread. BTW I made the bread by hand and it worked great. Proofed the yeast in warm water with sugar for about 15 minutes, added the oil, and then the dry ingredients. I kneaded for about 10 minutes and let the dough rise for about 30-40 minutes. Then, baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Great recipe! After reading reviews I set the oven at 500, and then flipped the loaves at 2-3 mins to brown both sides. Really fantastic. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I did it, but i had some few tips which i think are required for this recipe: 1- dough should be left to raise for at least one hour before dividing it into 8 pieces, and another one hour after that. 2- put you oven temperature on BROIL 10-15 min BEFORE you start baking. 3- try should be adjusted in the middle of the oven. 4- through the bread dough into your flat tray, close the oven door, and wait for 2-3 minutes only. Bread should be puff and done by then. if you let it for more than 5 mins , i'll become crunchy. 5- At the end, when you take out the bread , but it over a kitchen towel/napkin, and cover it with another towel.. DO NOT put it into the plastic bags before it bocomes at room tempreture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Awesome recipe! We like to jazz it up a bit, sometimes before baking it we'll brush on melted garlic butter and sprinkle with parm cheese. Great for dipping in pasta dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Great recipe! I used whole wheat flour instead of white and I don't have a bread machine so I just made it by hand and even though my fire alarm went off for the first batch, they still tasted great! I love how they puff up and you can cut them in half and stuff them with whatever you like! I like tuna with hot pepper, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
excellent as is.......... A definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
we loved how it tastes..but it's kinds hard? should it be that way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arad, Muharraq, Bahrain
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Really good and really easy. I'm just planning on using a little spice next time, like roasted garlic cloves or fresh herbs or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Delicious! Made it to go with Hummus III on this site. I used Rapid-Rise yeast, and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
These were a hit! Having a baking stone made things much easier than fidgeting w/ baking pans. The pizza stone preheated (on 500 degrees) as the dough was being made. We flipped the bread over after about 2 minutes to brown on the opposite side. Any longer & the bread would become crispy instead of chewy. Froze beautifully. Rave reviews – can’t wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States