Syrian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
this makes a great pita bread. I use it and add different bread spices to give it different flavor. I use a rolling pin when I want a big pocket and when I'm just looking for a flat bread I hand press it. It also makes a great pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Very good texture and taste. Dreamy with butter and honey! I did however, change the salt to 3/4 and sugar to 1-1/2tbs. I also made the dough into small round circles as directed but made half with a rolling pin and half by manipulating the dough with my hands. The half made by the rolling pins had hugh puffiness but the half made by hand raised just perfect without a hugh puff. Wil make wonderful bread for small pizzas but I'm eating thess tonight with Peanut Ginger Chicken from this board, Allrecipes, should make the perfect meal, thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdbooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
this bread works perfectly every time. i've tried varieties with part whole wheat flour, some with oat bran, i've put various herbs in the dough...all delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Used half ap and half wheat flours. Turned out great! Cant wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made these to go with some italian sausage soup. I brushed with a little italian seasoned garlic butter and sprinkled with parmesan cheese. Not a traditional pita, I know, but they were fabulous! We were eating them warm right out of the oven! yummy! I used leftover pitas for pizza crusts for my kids' lunch. Perfect to let them "decorate" their own and carry it to the oven. love this bread idea...so versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
It's regular Pita Bread and to name it Syrian Bread is just simple way to HIJACK Common Mediterranean Bread and to make it specifically Syrian. Now, about the Pita Bread itself what make it more Syrian is the fact that the Syrian makes it specially thin so to make balls of 4 OZ each will gives you More tasty Pita Bread with more Body, which will hold the juices from salads and other ingredients you will stuff it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is a great recipe as I used to get homemade Syrian bread regularly from my brother's mother-in-law. She is Syrian. I increased the sugar to 1 TBS and kept everything else the same as far as ingredients were concerned. At baking time I only divided the dough into 6 pieces rather than the suggested 8. As had been mentioned about the bread not browning on the bottom, I used mesh pizza rounds that allow the heat to penetrate the bottom of pizza crusts. This worked beautifully to solve the problem of under down bottoms and no need to turn bread during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
These were great. I made these with the Moroccan Tagine recipe from this site. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Yum! I made these exactly as written and they turned out fabulous. I might have to add some garlic to them when I make them again to make them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Loved it- just like the Afghan restaraunt my husband and I like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States