Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Excellent and quick recipe. I added some bacon to it, and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Had this for the first time last week at my boyfriends brothers house upstate. Didn't think I was going to be impressed but I was. Added some fresh chives, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
WONDERFUL!!!! I am from Syracuse, New York and have been eating these since I was a young girl. These are FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I'd never heard of these until we moved to the PA/NY border almost 15 years ago. However, they are a family favorite. We get these at every local festival and make them for every backyard barbecue. Make them exactly as described -- no need to dress them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I LOVE these potatoes! They taste fantastic and my roommates loved them too. Be careful to balance out your potato weight and the water/salt ratio, the first time I made this I incorrectly guestimated my potatos and it was almost too salty. The second (and third and fourth and fifth!) times it was fantastic and my roommates beg me to make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
If only you could taste these with the Cornell barbecue chicken that one can find about any weekend of the summer around here(Ithaca, NY/Cornell area)you'd know what it's all about!! You want them nice and tender, with plenty of butter, but not falling apart. Also, make sure you are using small, young potatoes- not too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I recently moved to Syracuse and kept seeing the salt potato bags at the store...picked up bag, tried this recipe (and learned some history) and the whole family LOVES them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I love salt potatoes. I used to live in Binghamton and would always get them at a local spiedie restaurant. I am not really a potato lover but made like this, they are so yummy. Make sure the potatoes are nice and small - so you can just pop them in your mouth in one bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I've lived in the Syracuse area all my life...they are Always a summertime staple, the Best one's are the Hinderwadle's, some stores carry their "own" brand, but the Hinderwadle's are the "traditional" Salt Potato..for those who aren't too big on using the whole bag of salt when cooking the potatoes, try using a little more than half the bag. I always let the potatoes sit covered after draining for a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
My husband and I met in Syracuse - and he is from Potsdam (way upstate) - he is ALWAYS asking for salt potatoes as a side dish. This recipe gave me the ratios I needed to make him happy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States