Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I am loving these potatoes! I used the larger red potatoes and cut them into 8ths before boiling. It cooked them a bit quicker. Wonderful quick potato dinner! Thanks so much! We will be eating these a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny with a G

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I have made these potatoes several times now, using baby reds... and they are WONDERFUL! I think it should be noted for people (such as Aspiring Chef Rita) that the recipe calls for WHOLE potatoes, washed only... do not cut the potatoes up and do not peel them otherwise they will absorb the salt and become too salty. When they are fork tender (about 15 minutes for me) drain them and let them sit to form the thin salt crust. I sometimes add chives to my melted butter, just for some color and added flavor even though I know it is not traditional. I have also boiled reds side by side, one pot with amount of salt this recipe calls for and one pot with just a little salt...and it's amazing how the salty brine makes the salt potatoes so creamy inside! Made correctly, they are NOT salty... just creamy and delicious! I served them alongside slow-roasted BBQ baby back pork ribs... mmmmmmmm... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Salt potatoes are just delicious!! I am always disappointed I can't find the bag/kit outside of Upstate NY. This recipe does a fine job, although I usually use Kosher/course salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Nice soft buttery potatoes. My son said, "Mom, why don't you make the potatoes like this all the time."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I was introduced to these salt potatoes a couple of years ago while visiting friends in upstate New York. I learned they were a big deal to people there, and I was eager to try the bag/kit of salt potatoes she picked up. The concept, she explained, was that the potatoes were boiled in copious amounts of salt that somehow made them flavorful and special. They were good, I thought, but tasted just like regular ol' boiled potatoes to me. In fact, they needed...salt! When I came across this recipe, I just had to try them again myself at home. And once again I found them good, but tasting no different than regular ol' boiled potatoes - that needed...salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I was expecting more. The potatoes were creamy but nothing special, flavor wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I am from Rochester/Buffalo Ny area, and no summer picnic, BBQ, or clam bake is complete without salt potatoes! I never put butter on top of them bc I prefer them plain with the salty crust. If you skip the butter then you can eat them cold for breakfast the next morning. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wittygrl19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very good! I have never made these before, but being raised by parents from Upstate NY, I've eaten them many times. I thought the ratio of salt and butter was perfect. Some reviews mentioned it being too salty, but the salt is boiled in the water, not placed directly on the cooked potatoes. Overall good flavor and I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsWife01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These are the best! To get the full taste I had someone drive 700 miles from Syracuse to bring me salt potaotes from Wegmans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I am originally from the Utica, New York area and grew up with these potatoes. I just fixed them tonight for a lobster dinner we were having and they were a BIG hit. They are easy to fix and are a real treat when paired with the lobster. I will definitely be serving them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Twin Mountain, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States