Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Wow! What an awesome dish! I made these for my girlfriend's birthday dinner tonight and we were both blown away by these little nuggets of goodness. I used Teeny Tiny Potatoes from Trader Joe's and followed the tip from another reviewer about the proportion of salt:water. Since I had a 1# bag of potatoes, I used 3/8 c. salt: 2 cups water. The salt crust formed just as described. Sooo delish and super easy. We will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maroa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I love this recipe!!! I had these the first time up in Gouverneur, NY! Loved them....new I make them once a month and always come to this recipe because i never remember!!!! THANX soooo much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
They are SOOOO good made just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minky410

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very good....followed recipe as stated. Potatoes did change in consistency and were very creamy and smooth. Topped with the melted butter with a little Thyme.....perfect pairing with baked chicken. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Yum - and really not salty at all. I didn't get as much of a salt crust as other people said (maybe too much water?), but they were good anyway. My 15 year old (who doesn't like potatoes at all) really liked these. Used up all the salt in the house, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Grew up in Syracuse and these potatoes made many clambakes better! Moved away and finally went back this year after 15+ years...the potatoes are still the same and this recipe is as close to the real thing as you can get. I'll be introducing my friends in Eastern NC during the next Pirate tailgate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XLshirtz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
this was a huge hit in our house i used small red potatoes and it came our perfect. not salty at all, very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These are a treat. I used fingerling potatoes and kosher salt, but I made sure I had a nice salty brine. My guests raved about how good they were. The outside had a slight salty crust and the potatoes were silky and creamy. Thanks kapsmary, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is a definite dish at any CNY summer gathering! It's important to use small whole potatoes, and let them sit after draining so the salt crust forms. My mom always mixed real butter and margarine to help cut the fat. Give them a chance ... you will understand why ALL of CNY'er's LOVE Salt Potatoes! They are creamy and delicious ... the salt adds a bonus flavor that is not too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I'm so glad to see that somebody out there has a recipe for this! I grew up near Syracuse and have been missing these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by publicprivacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States