Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Grew up in Syracuse and these potatoes made many clambakes better! Moved away and finally went back this year after 15+ years...the potatoes are still the same and this recipe is as close to the real thing as you can get. I'll be introducing my friends in Eastern NC during the next Pirate tailgate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XLshirtz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
this was a huge hit in our house i used small red potatoes and it came our perfect. not salty at all, very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These are a treat. I used fingerling potatoes and kosher salt, but I made sure I had a nice salty brine. My guests raved about how good they were. The outside had a slight salty crust and the potatoes were silky and creamy. Thanks kapsmary, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is a definite dish at any CNY summer gathering! It's important to use small whole potatoes, and let them sit after draining so the salt crust forms. My mom always mixed real butter and margarine to help cut the fat. Give them a chance ... you will understand why ALL of CNY'er's LOVE Salt Potatoes! They are creamy and delicious ... the salt adds a bonus flavor that is not too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I'm so glad to see that somebody out there has a recipe for this! I grew up near Syracuse and have been missing these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by publicprivacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Salt potatoes are the bomb!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I just used baby red fingerling potatoes for this. They are suprisingly decent--not sure I'm sold on pouring that much salt into water then dumping it out, but for a simple dish, not bad. I did as one reviewer suggested and let them sit--they really do form an outer salty crust, so you don't really need any salt or butter to add to them. Definitely, though, these aren't something you want to use big potatoes for! I'm not even sure I'm going to look at the sodium content for these and am glad I don't need to watch my sodium. Not bad for a quick side dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I was born and raised in Syracuse but I now live in Atlanta. I grew up with these potatoes mostly being served at the NYS Fair, block parties and cookouts. If you are in the area in August you should head there and grab some from the vendors. A better potato you won't find
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Love this method! Just like little mashed potatoes packaged in a potato skin! Add a little chives, scallions, garlic, tarragon. Or just butter. Pure, simple decadence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I had Salt Potatoes 1 time and have not been able to forget the yummyness. I finally found a recipe and made it right away. The only thing I did differently because the potatoes used for this recipe are so expensive is make a fourth of the recipe posted here. Also I added Garlic Salt. Once I made the recipe and tasted it, it seemed quite bland. Garlic Salt did the trick!!!!!! YEAH!!!!! The family loved it and it brought me back to Watertown, NY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States