Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
My husband is from upstate New York and introduced me to salt potatoes on one of our visits. I would only ever get them once a yr. when we traveled there. I would purchase several bags of salt potatoes to bring home, then I got smart and realized I could do them on my own with new potatoes and salt. I am in love with salt potatoes, and if done properly they are not extremely salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I grew up in central ny and have had this often. They are definitely different from regular boiled potatoes. Regular boiled potatoes get soggy and bland inside and mushy. Salt potatoes get a crispy skin and creamy inside. Let them sit after draining until they dry and get that thin salt film over the tops. The size should be small enough to eat the whole potato in one big full bite, and all around the same size. Don't bother with the recipe if they are medium sized because the point of salt potatoes is lost when you cut them to eat it. The way to enjoy them is to dip them in a little butter and eat the whole thing right off the fork. No cutting or mashing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I grew up with this recipe in upstate NY, with new potatoes that were in the ground just hours before. Make sure you do NOT peel or cut the potatoes; doing so will make the dish inedible. New potatoes are smaller than a chicken's egg; this recipe simply won't work with larger potatoes. And use unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I'm upstate NY an I MISS these so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Pietrzak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, New York, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Up there with some of the best potatoes in the world. Really is there anything better then salty buttery potatoes. I think not. Not overly salty at all. It was almost like mashed potatoes inside. So creamy so yummy. I used purple potatoes and browned my butter a tad because I love the nuttiness of brown butter. So very good I know I will be making this dish often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Law

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
YAY! I LOVE salt potatoes (I'm from Syracuse, so I might be a bit partial); can't get them down South where I live now, though. So glad I found this so I know the right ratio of salt to potatoes! Now if I could just figure out how to make cheese curd like the Amish up in Pulaski...maybe transport some white hots down here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was delicious and simple! I put about 2lbs of small-medium red, purple and gold potatoes in a pot & covered generously with water. I added one cup of salt (my that's a lot of salt when you have it all measured out) and allowed it to come to a boil. Then, I simmered those potato butts for 20-25 minutes. What came out was amazing! Taken out with a slotted spoon and patiently waiting for them to dry, a soft salt crust developed around the skin making it look like my potatoes were precious jewels. I devoured them immediately. I loved how the outside skin was salty and chewy and the inside "meat" though slightly bland, was creamy and soft and paired well with the salty exterior. Even my boyfriend (whom displayed no interest upon hearing how these were made) readily ate a few. No need for butter. These make for perfect snacks on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arzenika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
they also make great home fries if you have some leftovers--yummy--reds are not the same as white--sorry but the reds do make a great potato salad with the skins on--yummy i take several bags to my nephew's in VA whenever i go visit him--also using sea salt is the only way to go--if the salt comes with them i only use about half of it-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Grew up in Western NY, but now live in Ottawa, Ontario and always had these potatoes at the fairs. What a nice reminder of home. Made a 1/2 batch and they were perfect! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benjiesluv
Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States