Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Simple and delish, thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
As a Syracuse native I was excited to see this recipe on here. Now if I could just find those perfectly tiny potatoes grandma used to use....although baby reds do fine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca S. Roth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
My daughter and I loved these, although the other four family members seemed pretty indifferent. I will be adding this to my regular potato "rotation." Thanks for a fun new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
My husband and I met in Syracuse - and he is from Potsdam (way upstate) - he is ALWAYS asking for salt potatoes as a side dish. This recipe gave me the ratios I needed to make him happy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
If only you could taste these with the Cornell barbecue chicken that one can find about any weekend of the summer around here(Ithaca, NY/Cornell area)you'd know what it's all about!! You want them nice and tender, with plenty of butter, but not falling apart. Also, make sure you are using small, young potatoes- not too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I LOVE these potatoes! They taste fantastic and my roommates loved them too. Be careful to balance out your potato weight and the water/salt ratio, the first time I made this I incorrectly guestimated my potatos and it was almost too salty. The second (and third and fourth and fifth!) times it was fantastic and my roommates beg me to make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I've lived in the Syracuse area all my life...they are Always a summertime staple, the Best one's are the Hinderwadle's, some stores carry their "own" brand, but the Hinderwadle's are the "traditional" Salt Potato..for those who aren't too big on using the whole bag of salt when cooking the potatoes, try using a little more than half the bag. I always let the potatoes sit covered after draining for a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I recently moved to Syracuse and kept seeing the salt potato bags at the store...picked up bag, tried this recipe (and learned some history) and the whole family LOVES them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
A blast from the past. Such a delicious and simple side dish. You can throw in some fresh dill or parsley etc for looks, but these are so tasty they really don't need anything else. These are best served the same day...they lose some of their flavor as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Just excellent! These are great with barbequed chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States