Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Okay, with 113 reviews on this recipe, I seriously doubt that MY review will ever be read but I'm posting it anyway. :D I love reading stories about architypal food that our ancestors ate. I stumbled upon an article on wikipedia about Syracuse Salt Potatoes and was absolutely enthralled with the story of Irish Salt Miners from the turn of the century. On Wikipedia, they had two recipe links. I followed THERE recipes and my family and I enjoyed a treat STRAIGHT FROM HEAVEN!!!! This is what I learned: 1) Use ONLY "NEW yellow or white potatoes!!!" Never-ever use red skin potatoes!!! 2) The ratio of salt to water is 1 cup of KOSHER SALT (never table salt) to 6 cups of water. 3) The salt must be completely dissolved IN the water before you put in the potatoes. 4) Boil them until tender, drain but DO NOT RINSE. Allow to cool until you can eat them and use melted butter to dip them into. I'm telling you, Syracuse Salt Potatoes will be served in our home from now on! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDERBERRYBABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Eddie Murphy
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Added fresh chives to the butter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
The simplicity was appealing, and I followed the recipe precisely. What I found was an over salted, potato with an unpleasant texture and bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I'm not sure what I did wrong, as I followed the recipe to a tee. I've seen many reviewers say that these were NOT salty, but mine were terribly salty! Salty to the point of being inedible. I've never had Syracuse Salt Potatoes before, so I'm not sure what to compare them to, but unfortunately, these were just not my thing. I'm glad a tried the recipe, though! Thanks for sharing, kaspmary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Easy-Peasy. Taste good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I'm a native of Syracuse and these are more than just a simple potato dish. They are part of our lives and bring with them all the memories of family, friends and good times in the summer. That's why we give the 5 stars. In CNY we know reds from whites from yellows, etc. and we know what a raw potato tastes like from an early age. We like the flavors of potatoes without ketchup or mayo or sour cream or whatever else people use to mask the potato flavor. This recipe accentuates pure potato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
First time i tried salt potatoes was in Syracuse. I had them every summer when I lived there. Since I'm from Texas I introduced salsa to the mix and it's great. Just dip them in the salsa and it's a party. I've made salt potatoes every summer since even though I no longer live in Syracuse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Hogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I grew up in Upstate NY, and was shocked to find out that no one on the West Coast knew what Salt Potatoes were! My mom & I used to always buy the bags of potatoes at the store that came with a packet of salt inside, so I used this recipe to get the salt measurement right. I usually get either baby gold potatoes or new red potatoes. As long as they as small, with thin skin, and never cut. My husband & in-laws are now hooked. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I make these every summer for my husband with Cornell Chicken. Growing up in the Finger Lake Region, he misses summer bbq's badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Absolutely perfect. I grew up near Binghamton, NY and this recipe is a dead ringer. Totally reminds me of being a kid at the Irish festival at Grippen Park in Endicott. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wm. Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States