Swordfish Calabrian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
maybe it was the fact that the recipe was poorly written, or that the fish is cooked too many times, but my family and I thought this dish was horrible. First off, 3 Tablespoons divided is 1½ Tbsp., yet the first line says marinate the fish in 2 Tbsp. of oil. Secondly, The swordfish was way too tough from being marinated in lemon, which partially cooks it, being fried and THEN finally being boiled in wine.. and it was ALOT of wine. No time limit was stated as to boiling it off before putting the fish back in. We had rubbery swordfish in wine. Next time, I would not fry the fish with the onions and would put it in at the very end after the wine had completey cooked off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Simple, quick and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe had a good taste to it but was a little bit mushy because of the beans. I subsituted fava beans for white and pink beans. I would of got the fava beans but the grocery store didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Seeing as how my mother is from Calabria, I thought I would give this recipe a whirl, and am I glad that I did! Thanks Salvatore, this was delicious, very easy to follow. I had no trouble with rubbery fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I saw this in my recipe book after forgetting about it for 2 years, and I remembered how much I liked it. I don't remember any rubbery fish problem. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Wow, what an amazing recipe! I went out on a limb and tried this recipe for the first time for some friends during a dinner party. The response was overwhelming! I had no problem with chewy fish or an excess of wine in the finished product. I will definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I originally gave this recipe 3 stars, thinking that the fava beans were no good. My notes I made on the recipe said they were "yucky" tasting. I have since made it again and have decided that this entire recipe is "yucky." I used canellini beans and it was baaad. My family hates it. I hate it. I threw this recipe away. I won't waste my time with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I'd have to agree with some of the other comments about the reviewer who thought the fish was rubbery. They must be cooking-challenged or maybe they used inferior quality fish. I made this last night and my wife and I both loved it! It's light, but filling and totally delicious! definitely a keeper. I used butter beans instead of favas, but any meaty bean would work. I also suspect that halibut would work great if you can't find swordfish. Nice work, Salvatore! YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
this was great. I didn't have canned fava beans so I had to cook them myself. I cooked them in the pressure cooker which did an ok job, but left some of them mushy. this actually worked to this recipes advantage because it created a kind of white wine, onion, fava bean sauce which really went well with the swordfish. Not sure how that person overcooked the swordfish, it came out perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Yummy. My husband isn't a big fan of sword fish. But this tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Mediterranean Stuffed Swordfish

Five-star swordfish steaks stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States