Swope Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this delicious quick bread twice...the first time as printed, so I would know how it should taste, the second I used 2/3 cup honey because my husband prefers it to white sugar and added 1 more teaspoon baking soda (because of the honey). Both times it was very tasty. In fact, my husband has asked that I bake this bread instead of serving store-bought. To top that, my sweet mother-in-law insisted on taking the second loaf home with her! High praise indeed from a retired professional baker and a lady who raised a large family on homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
A hearty bread which is very easy to make. I found it a little too sweet; next time I'll use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Very easy to make and delicious! A real winner. I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I loved this bread!! I halved the recipe to make one loaf. The dough was quite thick after mixed so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I did rise an inch or two and that surprised me as I am used to having to use yeast. I baked it an hour and it came out well. I also used no whole wheat flour as I didn't have any on hand, so I used all all purpose white flour from hodgkin's mill. I also had to sub rice syrup for the sugar as I cannot have sugar. I also had no buttermilk so I sub full fat plain yogurt. It turned out great, butter on top made it awesome. It was almost sweet without being too sweet and very dense. I will make this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
I have five kids ages 1 through 10 and they absolutely loved it! My husband and I also enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Different, but good. Tastes alot like sweetened cornbread. I would make it again. Followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
One of the best recipes I have in my extensive recipe collection! So easy to make. Rich, moist, and delicious! Low in cholesterol because it contains no eggs, nor shortening of any kind, but it is a bit high in sodium. The recipe I use is for a single loaf. We use this bread for Communion at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
five stars for the simplicity and tastiness of this recipe. i had extra buttermilk i wanted to use in a recipe easily and quickly. i only had unbleached flour on hand, reduced the amount of sugar, and baked in small loaf pans. the bread was wonderfully (but not too) sweet and had just the right amount of substance (not too fluffy nor dense). try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
So I don't like having to substitute, but had to thinking I had three cups buttermilk instead of two - was gonna make 3/4 recipe. Anyway, stuck with the 3/4 plan using 2c buttermilk & 1c Greek yogurt. Added sugar as listed since that yogurt is a bit cheesy (if you know what I mean. & if you don't, try it - you will. ;D) I thought it was okay. Kids thought it was "too brown." :D 'Wish they liked it. Oh, in one of the three miniloaves I made, I added a heaping eighth teaspoon cinnamon. It was just barely noticeable. 'More would've been fine. It's pretty dense, as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gehbienes
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This is definitely an easy bread to make. I love that there's no yeast in it - makes it mighty quick to make. Personally, I love the sweetness of it, but if you're not into it you could easily cut down on the sugar to maybe 2/3 cup. Still, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States