Swope Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I loved this bread!! I halved the recipe to make one loaf. The dough was quite thick after mixed so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I did rise an inch or two and that surprised me as I am used to having to use yeast. I baked it an hour and it came out well. I also used no whole wheat flour as I didn't have any on hand, so I used all all purpose white flour from hodgkin's mill. I also had to sub rice syrup for the sugar as I cannot have sugar. I also had no buttermilk so I sub full fat plain yogurt. It turned out great, butter on top made it awesome. It was almost sweet without being too sweet and very dense. I will make this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Great! How can you beat a tasty, simple-to-make bread, It tastes good with honey butter, cream cheese, peanut butter . . . reminds me of a bagel in some ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
substituting ordinary buttermilk with low fat buttermilk, this becomes an incredibly low fat bread with an awesome taste! a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This bread was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
LOVE this bread! It's dense, but not too heavy. Just a bit sweet & so good buttered! I bet it'd be good made into french toast, too. I did cut the recipe in half, and made just one loaf. I used a glass loaf pan, and only had to bake the loaf about 45-50 minutes. Truly is a very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenivive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Excellent sweet bread. I made it for my co-workers as a treat and everyone raved about it. This could not have been easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
A good dark bread with a slightly tangy after-taste, but nothing spectacular about it. Will probably make it again, but will not be a staple at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
one of the best quick white bread recipe that i hve tried.i used white wheat flour and it was wonderful.thanks for the recipe Melissa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Very easy to make and delicious! A real winner. I will definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
I have five kids ages 1 through 10 and they absolutely loved it! My husband and I also enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States