Swope Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
So I don't like having to substitute, but had to thinking I had three cups buttermilk instead of two - was gonna make 3/4 recipe. Anyway, stuck with the 3/4 plan using 2c buttermilk & 1c Greek yogurt. Added sugar as listed since that yogurt is a bit cheesy (if you know what I mean. & if you don't, try it - you will. ;D) I thought it was okay. Kids thought it was "too brown." :D 'Wish they liked it. Oh, in one of the three miniloaves I made, I added a heaping eighth teaspoon cinnamon. It was just barely noticeable. 'More would've been fine. It's pretty dense, as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gehbienes
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This is definitely an easy bread to make. I love that there's no yeast in it - makes it mighty quick to make. Personally, I love the sweetness of it, but if you're not into it you could easily cut down on the sugar to maybe 2/3 cup. Still, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
My only change was using Splenda in place of sugar. I have mixed feelings about this bread. It was incredibly quick and easy to throw together but it was far from my favorite. I took some to my mother and she thought it was really good. I'm sure it would complement some dishes, as it is very dense and hearty. I actually think it would taste pretty good using 100% all-purpose flour but that would take all the nutrition out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
First time buying 100% whole wheat flour. I found this recipe on the side, but I cut in half,and I added splenda about 4 or 5 pks, I used Fat Free milk and I used 4 pks of Also Salt (salt subsitiute) Turn out great, not to sweet and not salty. I think next time I may just add 2 or 3 pks of splenda. Just because I don't care to much for sweet bread. I am glad to have to use regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Made this today for the first time and it is delicious. I did cut back on the sugar a bit and I was glad I did. I only made one loaf but will make another in a few days. I think i will make it a savory loaf then with some chives and other herbs mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very similar to the Colonial Brown Bread on this site, which we preferred to this recipe. Taste is pretty much the same, except it seemed that this bread got moldy quicker than the Colonial recipe. Could just be the funky weather we've been having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I made this to get rid of some buttermilk that was leftover. A good dense bread. Quick to make. I cut back on the sugar because of reviews since I was making it to go with roasted chicken. Glad I did. I think this would be good in the morning, toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I had about 1 cup whole wheat flour and used AP flour for the rest and used Stevia instead of sugar. This was EASY, quick, baked beautifully in 45 minutes and was wonderful! Nice and dense (great with the stew I cooked it to go with) but there was a lightness to it as well I loved the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made this bread this a.m. just to give it a try. So far half of one loaf is gone - I'm thinking it's a keeper. My kids and husband seem to really like it. I made it according to the recipe. I think raisins would be good in it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Kielsmeier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prentice, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
First time on this one Also used 2/3 honey vs. suger. good but could be a little sweeter. It was, quick, fun and tasted good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States