Swope Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Made this today for the first time and it is delicious. I did cut back on the sugar a bit and I was glad I did. I only made one loaf but will make another in a few days. I think i will make it a savory loaf then with some chives and other herbs mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very similar to the Colonial Brown Bread on this site, which we preferred to this recipe. Taste is pretty much the same, except it seemed that this bread got moldy quicker than the Colonial recipe. Could just be the funky weather we've been having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I made this to get rid of some buttermilk that was leftover. A good dense bread. Quick to make. I cut back on the sugar because of reviews since I was making it to go with roasted chicken. Glad I did. I think this would be good in the morning, toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I had about 1 cup whole wheat flour and used AP flour for the rest and used Stevia instead of sugar. This was EASY, quick, baked beautifully in 45 minutes and was wonderful! Nice and dense (great with the stew I cooked it to go with) but there was a lightness to it as well I loved the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made this bread this a.m. just to give it a try. So far half of one loaf is gone - I'm thinking it's a keeper. My kids and husband seem to really like it. I made it according to the recipe. I think raisins would be good in it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Kielsmeier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prentice, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
First time on this one Also used 2/3 honey vs. suger. good but could be a little sweeter. It was, quick, fun and tasted good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was just too dense and heavy for my liking, it had good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteffieLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This recipe was so easy. I was worried when it wasn't fluffy bread dough, but it cooked very well. My kids say "it's holy" and "this is like heaven." It's a winner recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I was the only one in my family to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
WOW! My new favorite recipe . Very easy to make and my children love it. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States