Swope Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
So easy and so good. Next time I will try a little less sugar but great as written. Had to use milk soured with vinegar and it worked just fine. Be sure the soda is all dissolved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very simple to through together... the final product did seem to be rather dense... but the bread had great flavor even though I cut the sugar back by half... will definitely make again if a need a bread but don't have prep time for kneading...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was ok but we all thought it had a slightly odd flavor and was way too sweet, even though I reduced the sugar. Probably won't make again, although I'd love to find a quick substitute for yeast bread when I've run out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
The creator of this recipe can not be serious when calling this wheat bread. 1 cup of sugar made this cake...a cake without any added flavor like vanilla or cinnamon. It reminded me of a sweet, a very sweet cornbread. It would probably be good if you turned it into a banana or another sweet bread. I was looking for wheat bread....a huge dissapointment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
So I don't like having to substitute, but had to thinking I had three cups buttermilk instead of two - was gonna make 3/4 recipe. Anyway, stuck with the 3/4 plan using 2c buttermilk & 1c Greek yogurt. Added sugar as listed since that yogurt is a bit cheesy (if you know what I mean. & if you don't, try it - you will. ;D) I thought it was okay. Kids thought it was "too brown." :D 'Wish they liked it. Oh, in one of the three miniloaves I made, I added a heaping eighth teaspoon cinnamon. It was just barely noticeable. 'More would've been fine. It's pretty dense, as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gehbienes
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This is definitely an easy bread to make. I love that there's no yeast in it - makes it mighty quick to make. Personally, I love the sweetness of it, but if you're not into it you could easily cut down on the sugar to maybe 2/3 cup. Still, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
My only change was using Splenda in place of sugar. I have mixed feelings about this bread. It was incredibly quick and easy to throw together but it was far from my favorite. I took some to my mother and she thought it was really good. I'm sure it would complement some dishes, as it is very dense and hearty. I actually think it would taste pretty good using 100% all-purpose flour but that would take all the nutrition out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
First time buying 100% whole wheat flour. I found this recipe on the side, but I cut in half,and I added splenda about 4 or 5 pks, I used Fat Free milk and I used 4 pks of Also Salt (salt subsitiute) Turn out great, not to sweet and not salty. I think next time I may just add 2 or 3 pks of splenda. Just because I don't care to much for sweet bread. I am glad to have to use regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Made this today for the first time and it is delicious. I did cut back on the sugar a bit and I was glad I did. I only made one loaf but will make another in a few days. I think i will make it a savory loaf then with some chives and other herbs mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very similar to the Colonial Brown Bread on this site, which we preferred to this recipe. Taste is pretty much the same, except it seemed that this bread got moldy quicker than the Colonial recipe. Could just be the funky weather we've been having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States