Swiss Vegetable Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
I, too, have made this for years. I like cheddar cheese better than Swiss and I use a small can (2.8 oz) of fried onion rings (not 6 oz. as listed). Also, I add about 1/4 cup milk with sour cream to keep casserole from getting too sticky. Also, always make sure veggies are thawed or they don't get done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
This is really fast if you remember to thaw the veggies out ahead of time (first time I forgot!). Another thing that I found handy was to mix everything together in the crock pot, and put it on low. It frees me up to do other things around the house, or run a few small errands, and still have a wonderful veggie dish for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I took everyone's advice.. waited to veggies to defrost and added 1/4 cup milk. I used pre-shredded mexican style cheese rather than swiss or cheddar. Everyone loves it! It's easy too. I can make it the night before and refrigerate it then put in in the oven for 30 while I'm making other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
I have been making this for years. You can also make it with cheddar cheese soup, sharp cheddar cheese and omit the fried onions - kids seem to like it better. On the orginial version I also add a can of sliced mushrooms, drained. Low fat soups and sour cream work just as well as the high fat kind - just not as rich tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Good stuff. I got asked for the recipe when I took this to the Christmas party. I used Monterary Jack and Cheddar cheese and added a 1/4 C of milk to the sour cream like suggested. It turned out great. I also bought the Cheddar Cheese French-fried onions, and I think that made it extra good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYJIMMIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
I made this to bring to Easter dinner at my in-laws. I used a pre-shredded mix of Monterey Jack and chedder cheeses instead of swiss. I don't cook very often..this was very easy for me..the in-laws were impressed and loved it..there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I use this recipe for almost every family gathering. It has become more popular than the Green Bean Casserole Recipe. Also, try this with Monterey Jack Cheese instead of Swiss or Cheddar. It is much more milder and the flavors of the vegetables really come thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Not worth the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I've made this recipe for a lot of people, and have only had one person not care for it. It is a favorite of mine though. I use a different bag of mixed veggies each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very good. I used frozen veggies and steamed first, made the sauce and refrigerated until just before time to go to a potluck. As others, used shredded colby-Jack cheese. Before adding the sauce sprinkled steamed, drained veggies with Mrs. Dash seasoning for extra flavor. Did not have the onion rings and just sprinkled extra cheese on top. No doubt the onion rings would add even more flavor and texture. Will try that next time. Thanks for an easy, quick and different vegetable dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States