Swiss Steak Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
THIS IS MUCH BETTER THAN PLAIN OLD BEEF STEW. I ADD GARLIC, CARROTS, AND CANNED MUSHROOMS. I USE FROZEN CORN AND ADD FROZEN GREEN BEANS AT THE SAME TIME. I AM MAKING RIGHT NOW FOR THE SECOND TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I made this for the first time yesterday and thought it was a bit bland. My family ate it but thought it was just okay. We like lots of flavor and this didn't really have it. I did add garlic, carrots, mushrooms, and left out the corn. Maybe someone can post ideas on how to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
"Just Like Mom's" is a term I use carefully, but this recipe deserves the title. I made this last fall, and now that the weather has changed again, I am ready for more. This was one of my favorite childhood dishes and Mom has lost her recipe, so I shared this one with her! Excellent over egg noodles. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Super easy! Great results! I cut the meat in strips, and cooked it only 5 hours - perfect! Also, I didn't need to cook the stew 25 more minutes after adding the corn; after 5 minutes, the corn was hot. I added 1/4 tsp. garlic powder and 1/4 tsp. pepper to the flour - would do that again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This was an okay recipe. In a pinch, I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
This stew recipe was very easy and in-expensive to make, and the best part was it tasted good too! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
This recipe was great. I added carrots for additional color and vitamins. The kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Good recipe. Its always great to find easy recipes for the slow cooker. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This was quick,simple and delicious. The steak turned out very tender and yummy... an excellent one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
I omitted the corn since my family doesn't care for the vegetable. I also browned the meat in a Presto Multi Cooker and then added the remaining ingredients instead of using a slow cooker. This saved on time, as the stew was ready to eat in 2 hours. The recipe was very easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States