Swiss Steak Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I followed directions on this recipe but I found I should have added more liquid to it throughout the 7 hours that it cooked. After 7 hours of cooking on low in slow cooker I found all the liquid dried up and parts of the dinner burnt on bottom of slow cooker. It also needed more seasoning than the recipe called for, it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
We thought this was really tasty. I did add carrots for flavor and I did leave out the corn as I am not a fan in soups/stews, but it was really nice. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Serve with egg noodles or over mashed potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWebb
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very good recipe. I added peas and two sliced carrots in place of the corn. The only thing I might change next time is to add more liquid - perhaps a cup of beef broth. Overall this makes a wonderful hearty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this last night. Truthfully, my first stew either. I omitted the corn because I didn't have any. I also used a 28oz can of Italian style whole tomatoes. It turned our wonderous. I did put a little celery salt and garlic powder in the flour mixture. My husband and 2-year old both loved it and my son NEVER eats potatoes or tomatoes normally. This will be put on the menu rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by owlison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was fantastic! The leftovers kept really well. I could eat this lunch and dinner for days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a very good recipe that we will definitely have again. I did add some celery and carrots just because I always put them in Swiss Steak. I also added some salt and pepper when I put it in the crock pot and probably doubled the amount of tomatoes but only because I always throw extra veggies in soups and stews. Very, very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Excellent and EZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUZJACS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This was very easy but not a big hit with the fam. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good. Made as directed except did not peel the red potatoes, quartered them with the skin on, added veggie bouillon with the water, an extra onion, baby carrots and garlic salt. The kids ate it all up with saltine crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States