Swiss Steak Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Very good! A definite keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I havent tried this one yet, Im off to the grocery store in a few minutes. I do have a suggestion for all the low carbers out there. Try substituting potatoes with cauliflower or turnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Love this recipe. Flavorful and fast and a complete meal in one dish. Great for busy people!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLCOUG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2000
My picky kids really like this.It was easy and tasty. I used diced tomatoes with Italian spices in the can.I also threw in some carrots to make it a more balanced meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
This was great! I added a can of cream of mushroom soup also and it made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
I omitted the corn since my family doesn't care for the vegetable. I also browned the meat in a Presto Multi Cooker and then added the remaining ingredients instead of using a slow cooker. This saved on time, as the stew was ready to eat in 2 hours. The recipe was very easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
This recipe was great. I added carrots for additional color and vitamins. The kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Super easy! Great results! I cut the meat in strips, and cooked it only 5 hours - perfect! Also, I didn't need to cook the stew 25 more minutes after adding the corn; after 5 minutes, the corn was hot. I added 1/4 tsp. garlic powder and 1/4 tsp. pepper to the flour - would do that again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
"Just Like Mom's" is a term I use carefully, but this recipe deserves the title. I made this last fall, and now that the weather has changed again, I am ready for more. This was one of my favorite childhood dishes and Mom has lost her recipe, so I shared this one with her! Excellent over egg noodles. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
THIS IS MUCH BETTER THAN PLAIN OLD BEEF STEW. I ADD GARLIC, CARROTS, AND CANNED MUSHROOMS. I USE FROZEN CORN AND ADD FROZEN GREEN BEANS AT THE SAME TIME. I AM MAKING RIGHT NOW FOR THE SECOND TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States