Swiss Steak Italian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Followed this basic recipe but had to make some changes. Omitted red wine because I didn't have any available, left out celery because my husband won't eat it, used one red bell pepper and one orange bell pepper because picky husband won't eat green. Served over rotini rather than egg noodles and used and entire onion. This was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
this was simple and easy to make. I did add some garlic with the onions. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Thank you for this good tasting recipe. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I used stew meat, but I have found that supermarkets dont cut it small enough. Then, I used beef broth & spaghetti Sauce. Also, I put the pepper (Red sweet) in with the onion after the beef but before the simmering began. I love it when you get raves rather than complaints after you slave over a hot stove all day. (Don't tell em that the stove did all the work!! and only 45 minutes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Excellent! I used a whole onion and 1 jar of garden vegetable pasta sauce since I didn't have the green peppers or celery. Also threw in some sherry since I didn't have quite enough red wine. Came out surprisingly tender and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Delicious! My family loved it, even my pickiest eater! I used one 24 oz. jar of Tomato and Basil spaghetti sauce and one can of beef broth in place of the additional spaghetti sauce and wine, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it. I cooked it all day long in the crock pot. I also did deer steaks instead of beef. I'm always looking for a way to mask the gaminess of deer and this did it. I didn't have wine, so I added a little vinegar. I also added several splashes of worchestersire sauce and fresh crushed garlic. Toward the end it mixed a little water and flour to thicken it. I will make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
excellentae!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I made this for my family and it was a smashing success. It's simply Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This recipe couuld stand with some improvement. It is easy but lacks the flavour a seasoned swiss steak maker can give it.Mines better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States