Swiss Sherry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by StickySue
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
My Hubby and I love it...The flavors married wonderfully. We prefer chicken thighs boneless/ skinless. added some mushrooms. I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was an excellent dish that everyone, even my picky eaters, enjoyed. I have also made this with cream of onion soup and jarred mushrooms (I was out of cream of mushroom soup). Either way is outstanding. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Delicious! I pounded the chicken breasts and then browned them in about a tablespoon of olive oil. Mixed the sauce in the frying pan to pick up some of the flavor of the chicken and heat the sauce more quickly. I didn't have any croutons, so browned 3/4 c. of panko bread crumbs in about about 2T butter and sprinkled with garlic salt. I wanted to reduce the fat, so didn't add any more butter. Cooked until bubbly. We'll definitely have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is easy to make and delivers a good, tasty meal. We modified this recipe by sautéing 1 lb. of sliced portobella mushrooms & 1 large red onion, diced, and added them to the soup, sherry, and sour cream mixture. We added an extra can of soup. The 6 skinless, boneless chicken breasts we used weighed 4-1/4 lbs. Not precisely sure of the cause, but the cooking time seemed off which has been noted by a few other reviewers. I suspect the large breasts were a factor, among others. Next time, I’ll cook at 375 for 45 minutes. The outside breasts fully cooked quite a bit faster than those in the middle so you may want to rotate about half-way through the cooking time. When making this again, plan to substitute Pepperidge Farm Herb Stuffing mix (dry) for the croutons, and cut back to 1/2 stick of butter. Overall, this is a very solid recipe with added potential to customize to your specific preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I'd say three and a half. I made two large chicken breasts but halved the toppings listed here. I think I might have used a bit less sherry (wound up a bit tangier than anticipated). Definitely a filling dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAL315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Yum! I stayed very true to the recipe. The only thing I changed was to substitute Greek yogurt for the sour cream and cut the amount of butter in half. I did add a few things. I wanted more sauce so I used a second can of cream of chicken soup, but I ran out of sherry so I used a little home made chicken broth. I also added mushrooms and onions to the soup mixture. Served with steamed asparagus and green beans. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was very easy to make and had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
What a tasty dish, the Sherry and Swiss cheese give such a great flavoring to this sauce. I did make a few changes since I had a ton of mushrooms to use up. I sauteed sliced mushrooms in some olive oil and minced garlic and green onions, and added that to the sauce mixture, also used about 2 tablespoons of fresh garden dill. I added a bit more than 1/4 cup sour cream. I didn't precook my chicken breast, just spiced them up with salt, pepper laid them in the dish with ample amounts of good sliced Swiss cheese and poured the sauce with mushroom mixture over it all. Baked at the specified 325 for 40 minutes and then topped with Panko bread crumbs mixed with some French fried onions that I also needed to use up and baked another 10 min until golden brown. No extra butter, in fact the soup was Healthy request and the sour cream light. The chicken was so moist and tender and the sauce makes this dish, I liked the added crunch topping also. We served with mushroom rice recipe on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was awesome. I made some changes but I think it would have been good as is. First thing I did was sprinkle the chicken with salt and pepper and then I sauteed it in olive oil and garlic until it was brown. Also in regards to the sauce I doubled the sour cream(reduced fat) and added a can of mushrooms. I also put the dill weed in the sauce. I did not use any butter with the breadcrumbs (which were garlic and cheese flavored) because I wanted to cut on the fat content somewhere. The croutons added a wonderful crust that was really flavorful and it browned beautifully even without butter. I increased the oven temp to 350 and cooked the chicken 50 min since they were thick breasts. It was so good and so moist. My husband loved it and so did I. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States